RSS

Sometimes You Feel Like a Nut! GF Walnut Butter

03 Apr

Walnut butter on apple slices is a great mid-day snack.

In researching the wheat-free and gluten-free way of eating, nut butters are frequently mentioned. I love the taste of nuts and the jolt of protein that they provide, but I have to be cautious when eating them because they can trigger flare-ups with IBS for me (sorry if that’s TMI, but this blog is written for health reasons!) Peanut butter is good, but gets boring pretty quickly, so I decided to try my hand at making Walnut butter. I was inspired by a visit to Nuts.com  (this is where I ordered my almond flour, which will hopefully arrive today!) and is a good source if you don’t want to go to the trouble of making it yourself, though I promise it’s easy-peasy!

Walnut Butter

  • 2 cups walnut halves, soaked overnight in water to reduce any bitterness
  • 1 TB organic honey
  • 1 TB walnut oil
  • pinch of kosher salt
  • ground cinnamon to taste

Rinse and drain the walnuts, and then roast them in a 400 degree oven for about 7 minutes, turning them over halfway through. Allow to cool completely. Using a food processor, blend the walnuts until they form a fine meal and begin to stick to the sides of the bowl. It is at this point that I added the honey and oil, and continue to process until the nuts become a bit of a paste, scraping the bowl occasionally. This will take several minutes altogether. Finally add the salt and cinnamon to taste and process to incorporate. Yields about 1 cup. Refrigerate.

I am sure that there are other methods that will result in a good nut butter, and in the future, I will try different variations. One that comes to mind is adding a dash of cayenne pepper and maybe chili powder for a spicy twist to the spread. I do adhere to a low carb diet, but I feel that adding sugars judiciously is within my personal guidelines, however if you prefer to get your carbs from another source, omit the honey. This recipe yields a butter that is not as smooth as commercial peanut butter, but is easily spreadable. Try it on apple slices, celery sticks and as an ingredient in place of peanut butter in some recipes.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Sometimes You Feel Like a Nut! GF Walnut Butter

  1. glutenvygirl

    April 3, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    My absolute favorite so far is cashew butter. I love the stuff! I haven’t tried making it at home yet – you make it sound very easy; I shall have to try this soon!

     
  2. Wheat Free GG

    April 3, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    I will definitely be trying cashew butter too, since it’s one of my husband’s favorite nuts! And trust me, it is seriously easy. I would think that with cashews, you will skip the soaking, so one less step! I usually make home-made gifts at the holidays, and instead of cookies, I am thinking this may be the Year of the Nut Butters!

     
  3. frugalfeeding

    April 3, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    I know the feeling – this sounds delicious.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 846 other followers

