RSS

Oopsie Daisy! Low-carb bread made of eggs and cream cheese…

26 Sep
Tuna Salad on an Oopsie roll!

Tuna Salad on an Oopsie roll!

Most people who consider going grain-free and low-carb shudder first at the thought of giving up sandwiches. Personally, I was never a big bread eater (wheat snuck into my food in other ways!) but there is no denying the convenience of being able to pick up a juicy burger layered with toppings! There are recipes out there that use almond flour, which are good… but some people don’t have easy access to specialty flours. Enter… the Oopsie Roll!

I will say straight away that this was NOT my invention. However, it’s such a great basic substitute for bread that I wanted to share it with you, just to make life easier for you! I was introduced to these by an online friend, and once I started googling, I found many recipes for them. The basics ingredients are eggs, cream cheese, cream of tartar, a little sweetener, pinch of salt, and some seasoning like garlic powder if you’d like them to be savory. The eggs need to separated and the whites beaten with cream of tartar until stiff… then beat the egg yolks, cream cheese, sweetener, salt and any seasoning you’re using… then fold whites into yolk mixture…

Large rectangluar Oopsie on parchment.

Large rectangular Oopsie on parchment. We’ll be cutting this into square burger buns for dinner tonight!

One of the best things about oopsies, is that you can shape them virtually any way that suits your needs. I have used bun pans for individual small buns; spread them into circles on a parchment-lined baking sheet for larger buns; spread a solid rectangle onto a parchment covered sheet and then cut them into square buns (my son uses them for peanut butter sandwiches) or larger pieces to use as wraps; baked them in large circles using a springform pan lined with parchment.

Whatever you decide to do, just make sure that you make them thick enough (about 1/’2″ or so) so that they are durable … and be careful of how long you cook them to preserve the flexibility. Many of the recipes I’ve found call for baking them about 30 minutes, mine usually come out after 20. I do have a convection oven, so that is likely a factor as well… so you will have to judge for yourself.

 

 

Enjoy your Oopsies!

 

Here are some Oopsie recipe links for you:

Large round Oopsie...

Large round Oopsie… why? I don’t know yet! 

From Your Lighter Side
On Food.com

I think this might be the original recipe link by Cleochatra… but I’m not quite sure! Apologies, as I like to give credit where credit is due :)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Oopsie Daisy! Low-carb bread made of eggs and cream cheese…

  1. Jamie VanEaton

    September 26, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    Thanks so much for the shout out! I am the original creator of the oopsies (cleochatra)and appreciate so much that you made the effort to trace its bun-lineage. You rock it out, bun-woman!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 26, 2012 at 7:12 pm

      Wooohooo! I’m SO glad that I got it right, lol. You are a savior to us low-carbers, let me tell ya :) the community of people sharing recipes makes it so much easier for us to get healthy. THANK YOU Cleochatra!! It’s amazing to me how versatile this oopsie recipe is… I keep finding new ways to use them.

       
  2. Chrissy Deutsch

    September 30, 2012 at 12:20 am

    Any chance these would work with one of the egg replacers like Ener-G or the like for those of us that are allergic to eggs?

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      October 2, 2012 at 7:07 am

      Hi Chrissy, thank you for commenting :) I tend to think that egg replacement would NOT work because whipping the egg whites stiff is a major key to the success of this recipe. I wonder though whether something like a meringue powder might work for the whites, along with egg replacement for the yolks. If you decide to give it a go, please let me know how it works out, as I am sure that there are others with egg allergies that would be interested! Have a great day.

       
      • Chrissy Deutsch

        October 2, 2012 at 11:16 am

        Thanks for the input Gretchen! And I think I will definitely be trying it with the powder, its just a matter of when. I’ll definitely let you know the results though!

         
      • Gretchen without Grain

        October 3, 2012 at 6:52 am

        I’ve never used the powder, so it’s just a theory ;) Also, I have no idea if the powder has carbs in it… but I look forward to knowing how it works for you, thanks!

         
  3. Dina Willis

    June 18, 2013 at 10:03 am

    Hi, I have made the Oopsies twice now and have to say that I do like them. The one thing that I don’t like is that they are sticky and stick to your fingers when you make a sandwich and pick them up. Any ideas as to what I am doing wrong or is this the way the are supposed to be? Thanks for all your comments :)

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 5, 2013 at 10:46 am

      I think that the egginess of these lends itself to being a bit sticky. I have found the same thing, but it’s not really bothered me much. Perhaps dust the tops with a little rice or other fine flour just to tame them down a bit? I think it’s the nature of the recipe, nothing you are doing wrong :) ~G

       
  4. MF

    July 21, 2013 at 2:06 am

    Hi, there. Thanks for the recipe! Have you ever used this for making pizza? I am trying desperately to find a low glycemic load pizza dough recipe.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 5, 2013 at 10:52 am

      Yes, I have made it a little thicker and used it as a pizza crust… however you may want to try the all-in-one buns I have posted, and use that as a crust as it’s very similar but a bit sturdier! ~G

       
  5. Sharyn Friedman

    August 16, 2013 at 1:51 pm

    This is a very late reply but I have meringue powder in the house. there are 5 carbs per tablespoon. You can use it as an egg white substitute in baking and the conversion is as follows:
    2 teaspoons meringue + 2 tablespoons water = 1 egg white. This is what was on the can of the merigue powder. :)

     
  6. Sara Anders

    October 26, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    This looks great. We are wheat free and missing bread! Will have to grab a couple things at the store… but will be making VERY soon! And thanks for finding the original creator!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      October 29, 2013 at 6:56 am

      I hope that these are helpful to you! Also check out the recipe I posted for All-in-one buns, as it was inspired by the Oopsie rolls, but they are a bit sturdier.
      Good luck on your GF journey!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 771 other followers

