RSS

Coconut Shrimp {Grain-free and Low Carb}

15 Jan
Coconut Shrimp, Gluten and Grain Free!

Coconut Shrimp, Gluten and Grain Free!

 

This is a super simple recipe that is great for coconut shrimp, but it’s also wonderful for chicken strips or anything else that you may want to pan fry without traditional grain flours. The main ingredients in the “breading” are almond flour, shredded coconut and grated Parmesan cheese, and while I will give you the proportions that I used, feel free to tinker with the ratios to your own liking! I added a little Old Bay seasoning to compliment the seafood flavor I was after, but many times I will use my own seasonings such as garlic powder, fresh cracked pepper, oregano, basil, cayenne pepper, or whatever you prefer. This is less sweet than many versions of coconut shrimp I’ve had in the past, but my palate prefers it that way. If you’d like it sweeter, just add a little sweetener (such as Swerve or Truvia)  to the dry ingredients.

I splurged a little on carbs when it comes to the marmalade dip, but it’s much lower than a traditional dip. Using the low sugar marmalade, and mixing in some butter and sriracha (hot sauce) will give you the flavor without the usual high carb content. If you want to stay Wheat Belly compliant, skip the sauce!

We love shrimp, and I much prefer to buy it raw than pre-cooked. We don’t have easy access to fresh seafood where we live, but frozen is great as well. When I peel the shrimp (after thawing), I like to leave the last tail section in place, but remove everything else. To devein, run a sharp knife along the backside of the shrimp, removing the dark vein. To butterfly, as I do for this recipe, remove the vein and then slide the knife a little deeper to open up the shrimp, but be careful not to cut all the way through. Here is a 25 second video demo in case you need a little visual to help!

Coconut Shrimp

Egg mixture and breading

Egg mixture and breading

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb large raw shrimp, peeled, deveined, butterflied and patted dry
  • 1/3 C grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 C shredded coconut (unsweetened)
  • 1/2 C almond flour
  • 1 tsp Old Bay seasoning (or seasonings of your choice if altering)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 C mayonnaise
  • coconut oil for pan frying

Directions:
Combine the Parmesan cheese, almond flour, shredded coconut and seasonings; set aside.

Frying shrimp in batches

Frying shrimp in batches

Beat together eggs and mayonnaise. Heat coconut oil in a skillet (I used our new ceramic coated non-stick, which rocked!) over medium-high heat. Dredge each shrimp in the egg mixture, removing excess against the side of the dish, and then press into the almond flour mixture to coat. Place each shrimp into the hot oil, cooking about 3 minutes per side, turning once. Cook in batches, moving shrimp as needed to ensure even browning. Remove to plate to cool. Serve with marmalade dip if desired.

A plate of shrimpy goodness!!

A plate FULL of shrimpy goodness!!

 

Low-Carb Marmalade Dip

  • 1/4 C reduced sugar marmalade, melted
  • 1/4 C melted butter
  • dash of sriracha or other hot sauce

Combine all ingredients and serve with coconut shrimp.

Healthy fried food is possible!

We don’t have fried foods very often, but late on a Saturday night, using healthy coconut oil, this was perfect!!

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Coconut Shrimp {Grain-free and Low Carb}

  1. Debbie Latour

    March 6, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    So mayonnaise is allowed on the GF diet. I’m still not sure what is and what is not. I know if I read it on a label that it’s a no-go but there are just some things that I’m not so sure about. I know to stay away from white/wheat flour but what type of flour is allowed besides Almond flour? I also wonder about oatmeal(porridge) which I ate of lot of at breakfast time and loved it. Is it still considered a grain and if not what can I have in lieu? Oh and what about rice, white? brown? I’m still learning so until I know for sure what is allowed I plan to stay away from it. I’ve only been on the Wheat belly diet for 3 days now and I swear I don’t feel as bloated as I did before. My husband laughs at me and says it’s all in my head but I just ignore him and go by how I’m feeling lol.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      March 7, 2013 at 7:42 pm

      Hi Debbie,
      Have you read the Wheat Belly book by Dr. Davis? It goes over pretty much all the questions you seem to have. Also, check out my article on How to Shop, it will help you get started. I do use mayonnaise in moderation, but some may choose not to because it usually contains soybean oil.
      As for flours, I also have a flour chart you can find under articles that might help you to make selections at the store. After being in this lifestyle for almost a year, I primarily use almond flour and coconut flour and sometimes a little buckwheat (which is not a wheat) and sometimes garbanzo bean flour. Most following this WOE do not eat oatmeal, as it is a grain and usually results in a major blood sugar spike and is high in carbs. I use lots of eggs, cheese and cream cheese to make substitutes for baked goods.
      The one grain that I eat occasionally is white rice, as it is the most benign in my system and doesn’t upset my digestion (I deal with severe IBS if I don’t eat the right way.) One of my favorite treat foods is sushi, and I’m happy to be able to have it once in awhile. The brown rice is actually more inflammatory than the white, so I avoid it.
      I’m happy to hear that you are already finding that your bloating is going away… and NO it is NOT your imagination. He can laugh at you now, but just wait, in a few weeks you will be feeling amazing, and he may just decide to join you ;)
      ~Gretchen

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 796 other followers

