RSS

Spinach Balls for St. Patty’s Day {Gluten-free, Low-carb}

17 Mar
Spinach Balls for St. Patty’s Day {Gluten-free, Low-carb}
Gluten-free Spinach Balls

Gluten-free Spinach Balls, a great appetizer for St. Patrick’s Day or any time!

I’m coming up on my one-year anniversary of being totally wheat-free, but it was last year at a dear friend’s annual St. Patrick’s Day party that I first heard a story from a mutual friend about how how her health and life had been transformed by getting rid of “gluten.”

Gluten??? I didn’t even know what it was… except that I had seen it sold in the baking sections of grocery stores, and I knew it was sometimes added into flours to make better bread. Hmmmm.

She told me how her headaches were gone, her general wellness had improved, she dropped weight, had less hunger, and basically just felt fantastic! I was intrigued to say the least. I had been fighting chronic headaches since my teens, so if there was ANY chance that getting rid of this mysterious GLUTEN could make me feel better, I was 100% open to it. This year, I was able to give her a big hug and tell her that our conversation last year had changed my LIFE, the lives of my guys, and that I had even started a food and health blog which was helping to spread the word to even MORE people! She was touched and happy to have made a real difference. I know just how she feels because I have that warm feeling with every comment I get from readers who let me know that they appreciate this blog!

At last year’s shindig, she browsed the fantastic spread of food, looking for options that were gluten-free. I had brought my traditional spinach balls (made with stuffing mix), and she obviously couldn’t eat those. She settled on some cheese, veggies and dip, and some of the corned beef and vegetables, but the vast majority of foods that people had brought to share were off-limits.

This year I was deciding what to take, and decided to MODIFY my spinach balls to make them gluten-free and low-carb! (I adapted this base recipe.) I replaced the stuffing mix with some extra cheese, smashed pork rinds and a little coconut flour… Success!! They disappeared just as quickly as the original version, and satisfied the growing number of people who were gluten-free! Last year there were a couple people who did not eat gluten… this year there were probably 6 of us, and on top of that, our friends who still eat wheat had taken our needs into consideration and had made some things that were safe as well. What progress!! In addition to the corned beef and cabbage provided by our most fabulous hosts and dear friends, there were the spinach balls, a chocolate cake mint trifle (that I will be posting next :) ), peanut butter cookies, bacon-wrapped BBQ water chestnuts, a variety of cheeses including an amazing Irish goat cheese with herbs, spinach artichoke dip, shrimp cocktail, and a variety of crackers. While not everything was low-carb, it was still fair game for a party in my opinion, and I enjoyed a bit of everything!

Gluten-free Spinach Balls

  • Ready to steam in mircowave

    Ready to steam in microwave

    20oz frozen spinach

  • 1 medium onion, finely diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 6 eggs, beaten
  • 2Tb coconut flour, sifted
  • 1C Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1C mozzarella cheese, grated
  • 2C plain pork rinds, well-chopped
  • 3/4C butter, melted
  • 1/4C fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • Draining excess water

    Draining excess water

    1 tsp garlic powder

  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • pepper to taste
  • 1/2 lb Cooked crumbled bacon

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Place spinach, onion and garlic in a microwave safe bowl, cover with plastic wrap and cook at full power for about 6 minutes or until the spinach is cooked and onions and garlic is steamed. (Carefully remove plastic wrap to prevent steam burns.)

Spinach mixture

Spinach mixture

Remove excess water from spinach by pressing through a fine sieve with the back of a spoon or with your hands if cool enough. Alternately, you could wrap spinach mixture in good quality paper towels and “wring out”  the excess juice. After spinach is drained, combine all ingredients in large mixing bowl, making sure to thoroughly mix together. Make balls 3/4″ to 1″ in size, placing on cookie sheet to bake. Bake approximately 10-12 minutes or until firm and lightly browned at bottom edges.

Ready to cook

Ready to cook on silicone cooking mat

All done!

All done! My son is already asking for me to make these again, when I WON’T be taking them to a party :)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Spinach Balls for St. Patty’s Day {Gluten-free, Low-carb}

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    March 17, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    Love how you get so creative to find alternatives. Know I would just devour these.

     
  2. deb

    March 27, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    Any substitute for pork rinds? I can’t digest meat but the rest of the recipe looks great.
    Thanks!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      March 27, 2013 at 8:17 pm

      Hi Deb, You can try almond flour, but I am sure that the consistency won’t be the same. If you made some almond flour crackers or flat bread and turned some of it to crumbs, that might work better as a binder. Thanks for commenting, I wish I had a better answer for you! ~Gretchen

       
  3. Aprile

    March 30, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    I just discovered your blog and made these today. Scrumptious! I’m also in the process of making the chocolate mint trifle. I can’t wait to see how it turns out. Thank you for creating this space!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      April 5, 2013 at 12:35 pm

      Hi Aprile, These are yummy, aren’t they? It was fun to take something based on stuffing (wheat) and make it healthier! You are welcome, and I hope that you find some helpful info here :) ~Gretchen

       
  4. Ja

    April 7, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    Gretchen, I made these tonight and my boyfriend and I loved them. Another great way to get more veggies in. Thank you again for all you do :)

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      April 8, 2013 at 6:46 am

      Hi Ja, So glad you both enjoyed these! I need to make them again soon myself. ~Gretchen

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 788 other followers

