RSS

Gretchen’s Green Goddess and Carrot Ginger Dressings {Gluten-free, Low-carb}

26 Mar
Gretchen’s Green Goddess and Carrot Ginger Dressings {Gluten-free, Low-carb}
Green Goddess and Fresh Cucumbers

Green Goddess and Fresh Cucumbers

Making your own dressings is a much simpler endeavor than many people realize.You not only have absolute control over your ingredients which assures that there won’t be any allergens or unwanted additives, it’s also 100% better tasting and you can tweak it to your own personal tastes! Most will last a week in the fridge, and if you eat as many salads and veggies as we do, you’ll get through it in plenty of time!

GREEN GODDESS: Traditional Green Goddess dressing is actually not made with avocados, but when you have something as green, creamy and full of nutritional goodness as an avocado is, why not include it! This dressing is pretty zingy from the green onion and garlic, so if you prefer something a little calmer, just use less. My son is a huge fan of ranch dressing, and he LOVES this one. I used fresh parsley as the herb because that’s what I had on hand, but when my herb garden is flourishing this summer, I would also add tarragon, chives, or perhaps even make a version with Basil, as the Barefoot Contessa has done here, though I would still add my beloved avocado ;) And speaking of ingredients, I’ve discovered that not all sour cream is created equally (or healthfully!) Many have a long list of ingredients which include additives. The commercial brand I buy is Daisy, which contains only Grade A cultured cream. Yay, Daisy!! They get an A+ from me, and they get my business!!

Gretchen’s Green Goddess Dressing

  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 1/2 C mayonnaise
  • 1/2 C sour cream
  • 2 tsp anchovy paste
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 C chopped green onions (white and light green parts)
  • 1/2 C chopped fresh parsley (or blend of herbs such as tarragon, basil)
  • 2 cloves garlic, diced
  • pepper to taste
  • 1/4 C half and half if needed for consistency

Combine all ingredients in blender or food processor and process until smooth. Store in refrigerator in airtight container up to one week. Makes about 2 cups. (10g net carb per batch, 1.25g net carb per 1/4C)

Green Goddess, Carrot Ginger and Simple Salad

Green Goddess, Carrot Ginger and Simple Salad

CARROT GINGER: Most of us who have been to sushi or hibachi restaurants have tried their simple iceberg salad with a Carrot Ginger dressing (most likely eaten with chopsticks!). I’ve always enjoyed the color and spirited flavors, and decided to give this one a try as well. I did steam the carrots slightly to make them easier to blend in my Ninja, but if your machine is powerful enough, you could just use them raw. I don’t think this is an exact replica of the dressing, but we sure enjoyed it last night on a simple salad to accompany a Broccoli Beef stir fry! I use light olive oil in this recipe because extra virgin olive oil has a much stronger taste that I do not prefer with the other flavors. Of course, use whichever olive oil you like. I prefer to get the flavor from a little bit of sesame oil… just be aware, sesame oil has a very strong flavor, and a little goes a long ways!

Carrot Ginger Dressing

  • 3/4 C chopped carrot, lightly steamed
  • 1/2 C onion, diced
  • 2 Tb fresh ginger, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, diced
  • 1/2 light olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • 5Tb rice vinegar
  • 1Tb tamari
  • 1/2 tsp sweetener (optional, I used Truvia)
  • 2Tb lemon juice

Blend all ingredients in a blender or food processor until smooth. Store in airtight container in refrigerator up to one week. Makes about 1.5 cups. (22g net carb for batch, about 1g net carb per Tb.) 

Carrot Ginger Dressing

Carrot Ginger Dressing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Gretchen’s Green Goddess and Carrot Ginger Dressings {Gluten-free, Low-carb}

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    March 26, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    Grief, we’re so boring here when it comes to using avocado. I would never have thought to use it within a dressing, yet reading your post it makes such perfect sense. As for the carrot and ginger: I’m hoping to make a carrot and ginger soup over the weekend as I very seldom eat them. Yes, I use them in stocks and sauces but normally they’re poached and discarded. Must find recipes for using them more during warmer weather, rather than just raw. Your dressing sounds perfect for crisp salads.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      March 27, 2013 at 7:06 am

      I’m glad you are thinking of avocados differently! They are such an amazing food. These dressings are different as night and day, one creamy and one being more a tangy vinaigrette. This is a very different use for carrots for me as well; I usually have them in soup or perhaps with a roast.

       
  2. Renee

    July 26, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    Gretchen, I made your Green Goddess GOODNESS tonight and OH MY. It’s absolutely wonderful! Now…if I can just get the hubs to leave me enough for my salad tomorrow! Thank you and please, please, please don’t stop coming up with these fabulous recipes!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 5, 2013 at 10:54 am

      I’m so glad the dressing was a hit for you! I make the Green Goddess and Blue Cheese dressings frequently, as well as simple oil and vinegar concoctions. I haven’t been experimenting as much recently, but when I do, I’ll post some more! ~G

       
  3. Jan

    November 20, 2013 at 3:56 pm

    Gretchen, I love this Green Goddess dressing and I also like your new profile picture :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 787 other followers

