RSS

Coconut Flour Double-Chocolate Brownies, Gluten Free

21 Sep
Coconut Flour Double-Chocolate Brownies, Gluten Free

 

Coconut Flour Double Chocolate Brownies. Gluten Free, Low Carb Decadence!

Coconut Flour Double Chocolate Brownies. Gluten Free, Low Carb Decadence!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted… and there are several reasons for that.. but instead of going into details with this initial return post, I figured I’d just give you all some chocolate first!

Photo May 02, 7 09 01 AMIsn’t that the best way to kiss and make up??
A little chocolate brownie action to ease re-entry to the blogosphere :)

The reason for this recipe, is that after a long while following Wheat Belly, I realized that my system doesn’t do all that well with the straight almond flour recipes. I can have a little here and there, but with digestive issues, I’ve been working on alternatives. Coconut flour is great for this, as its density works well with the texture of a brownie. Instead of going for light like I do in my muffin recipes, this is a more dense texture, and depending how long you choose to bake it, even a bit on the gooey side!

I realize that 6TB doesn’t seem like much flour, but remember that coconut flour is much more absorbent than other grain and nut flours. It cannot be substituted, recipes need to be crafted specifically for coconut flour. If you wish to make this recipe dairy free, substitute coconut oil for the butter, perhaps adding a pinch of salt.

Coconut Flour Double-Chocolate Brownies
(about 72g net carbs for entire recipe; 16 servings 4.5g each,
32 servings 2.25 each. Add more for additional ingredients)

  • 2 oz unsweetened chocolate, chopped

    Ready to bake!

    Ready to bake!

  • 6 TB butter
  • 1/4 C cashew butter
  • 1 TB vanilla
  • 1/2-3/4C sweetener such as Swerve or Truvia
    if you prefer more or less sweet, adjust to your taste
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 TB maple syrup or sugar free syrup if you prefer
  • 6 TB coconut flour, sifted
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder, sifted
  • 2 TB cocoa powder, sifted
  • 1/2 C chopped walnuts, pecans, or nut of choice
  • 1/2 xanthan gum (optional!)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a loaf pan by lining with buttered baking parchment, or use a non-stick pan such as the silicone loaf pan I show here.

Combine first 3 ingredients and either melt together in the microwave, or heat over low in a pan on the stovetop, stirring until all ingredients are softened and combined. Remove from heat, transfer to medium mixing bowl and cool slightly. Stir in vanilla, sweetener, eggs and syrup.

Sift together coconut flour, baking powder, cocoa powder and xanthan gum (if using.) Stir dry ingredients into wet mixture. Add chopped nuts. (I sometimes add dark chocolate chips or dried berries, but realize this will raise carb count.)

Spoon mixture into loaf pan, patting top to even it out. Bake at 350 for 18-22 minutes depending on your oven and level of doneness you prefer. I use a convection oven, and 18 minutes gives me a gooey center, 20 is firm, 22 is a bit stiff and crumbly. Allow to cool slightly and eat, or refrigerate. If desired, frost with cream cheese frosting.

Photo May 04, 1 36 12 PM

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Coconut Flour Double-Chocolate Brownies, Gluten Free

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    September 21, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    Great to have you back! Was thinking of you, and several other bloggers, recently. Two of whom have had babies for the first time.
    – Still haven’t baked brownies. Although earlier tonight I baked chocolate cheesecake for the first time. Stuffed to the gills. Delicious stuff. Why did I start this baking lark? Now I’m obsessed :)

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 22, 2013 at 1:05 am

      Great to see you too!!
      No extra little ones here, lol, but congrats to your friends :)
      I need to catch up on your blog and see what you’ve been up to with the baking… I know you’re not usually a sweets kinda guy ;)
      Cheesecake is definitely a great way to go, mmmmm!

       
  2. Kat (The Grain-Free Goddess & Obsessive SLP)

    September 21, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    Hooray,Gretchen! You’re back! I am going to make these this week, once I finish up my 21 Day Sugar Detox!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 22, 2013 at 1:02 am

      Thanks! There’s not much sugar, just 2TB of syrup, could swap that for sweetener unless you’re skipping that too. Sugar detox sounds like a great idea though! How did it go for you?

       
  3. Mitch

    September 22, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    Awesome post! I want you to make some…then sneak them into the movies for us. Great to see you back, I missed reading you.

    Sent from my iPhone

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 26, 2013 at 5:59 pm

      Shhhhhh! We’re not supposed to sneak in treats ;) but then again, there aren’t exactly healthy choices at the movie counter lol.

       
  4. Kim Amond

    September 22, 2013 at 9:05 pm

    I’m glad you’re back too! I just found you and saw it had been awhile. :)

    Looking forward to your stories and recipes. DH and I both went wheat free after reading Wheat Belly back in March. I’ve lost 14 lbs and several inches. He hasn’t lost anything but he hasn’t given up his weekend beers until a week or so ago and we both gave up sugar then too. He’s taking some iodine supplements after Dr. Davis looked at his thyroid panel and suggested it. Hopefully he’ll see some scale movement now.

     
  5. Terry Duncan

    September 23, 2013 at 6:10 am

    Hi Gretchen! So glad to see you in my email! Been trying a lot of different things – 21DSD – sort of helped with sugar detox. Now I’m on day 29 of Whole 30 – it has been eye opening, helpful, and I feel so much better…..still glad for Dr. Davis though – I still need to lose weight. Will get on the scale on day 31. I will probably continue W30 for another 30 days – I still think too much about the sugar dragon – and or substitutes. The brownies sound marvelous – a keeper along with your other wonderful recipes. Hope to hear more from you!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 26, 2013 at 5:58 pm

      Good to hear from you! And very glad you’re doing better :)
      I know that sugar monster is a hard one to beat. I haven’t done the programs you’re on, I’ll have to look into them. I still don’t crave sweets very much, mine usually comes from a little dark chocolate or wine ;) one if the reasons I haven’t posted in so long is that I’m just not experimenting with baking the way I did at first. I make a few standbys for my son, but overall, eating is pretty simplified. Still working on some weight loss here, but starting to think I am the way I am, and eating for enriched health is all I can do!

       
  6. Patty

    September 23, 2013 at 8:12 am

    Looks yummy! The recipe says 1/2 xantham gum. Is that half a packet or half a teaspoon? Also, what does the xantham gum do? I have used it to thicken stuff but have not baked with it. Not sure how to decide if I should use it or not. Thanks!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 26, 2013 at 5:52 pm

      Sorry, typo ;) 1/2 tsp is the correct amount. It’s added into some recipes for added chewiness. I usually make it without, but up to you. If you don’t have it on hand, you do not need to buy it just for this recipe!

       
  7. Valerie Paquette

    September 26, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    My question is: On the recipe, you just said 1/2 xanthan gum (optional!) .. 1/2 of what? cup teaspoon, tablespoon … I am excited to bake this, I just need to know how much xanthan gum to use, thanks!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 26, 2013 at 5:42 pm

      Ooops!!! 1/2tsp ;)
      It’s completely optional, I usually make it without. I just added it for those who might like the texture. Hope you enjoy these.

       
  8. MJ

    September 30, 2013 at 4:14 pm

    Hey Gretchen, I’m been experimenting with gluten free for quite some time; now I am at the point I want to start preparing my own baked goods and breads, etc. I’m a great baker–but with wheat flour recipes. Actually, due to my perfectionist nature, the whole gluten free baking thing kind of scares me! What I’m noticing is a lot of gluten free recipes call for all-purpose flour. Do you have an suggestions as to how I can make my own without using rice and potato starches, that will serve for most gluten free recipes? Thank you so much.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      October 29, 2013 at 6:28 am

      There are some GF baking mixes and recipes for mixes out there, but they really are mainly made up of a mix of starches, very high carb. The best advice I can give is to follow some existing recipes using the types of flour that you prefer to use, and get a feel for them, and then perhaps start crafting your own. I have substituted almond flour for wheat flour in some cookie recipes, but for other types of baking, they really aren’t interchangeable. Also, coconut flour is so absorbent, that it acts differently than any other flour out there, so you will need to use recipes designed specifically for coconut flour. I was a big baker before going off wheat as well, but since adapting to a GF lifestyle, and remaining aware of carb content, I simply don’t bake as much, as I feel that there are so many healthier food options, I don’t like relying on baked goods in our diet. I do have many baking recipes here, but I used them much more at the beginning of our journey than I do now. There is such a natural urge to recreate what we had before going GF, but the further I am from eating wheat, the less I desire to mimic it. Good luck to you, sorry I don’t have a simple answer!

       
  9. cookingupthecure

    October 8, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    Making this in about 20 minutes!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 788 other followers

