RSS

And The Cupboards Are Bare!

02 Apr

OK, that isn’t true, but it WAS true for a day or so! Last Thursday, I spent the entire day going through every nook and cranny in my kitchen where food is stored, and weeded out all the products that contain wheat and/or gluten. It was stressful, eye-opening, and cleansing all in one go. While I did pull several items out of the fridge (mostly condiments) and the freezer (processed meats), the vast majority of the casualties came from the pantry cupboards.

If you are considering changing the way you eat (for any reason), and your whole household is on board, I strongly suggest taking the ruthless approach to editing your food supply. It wasn’t easy, however the end result was that now there is no confusion, and everything remaining in our house is fair game! That is a definite bonus when it comes to enabling the guys to be able to eat when I am not there whipping up something in the kitchen. There are still some things that are better for us than others, but there isn’t anything left that will cause the bloating, fatigue and body pain that we were experiencing mere weeks ago. Yay! (It is still a bit of a marvel to me that the constant body pain I was feeling for months on end have reduced by about 90% in just a couple weeks. From what I understand, wheat causes inflammation of the tissues, and that is the reason that so many people experience a relief when it is removed from the diet.)

One thing that was immediately apparent is that the processed foods have a LOT more packaging! So many boxes of pasta, cereal, snacks, baking mixes that had to be taken out and donated! It was amusing that each of us had something in the pile that we wanted to hang on to: Cheez-It crackers, frozen waffles, Dragon Sauce.

I think the next post will be about the lurking gluten I discovered… stay tuned!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2012 in Gluten-free, Wheat-Free

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “And The Cupboards Are Bare!

  1. Bobbie Bullen

    April 2, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    Thank you for your willingness to share your experiences with a GF diet. I have recently begun to change my diet (at 60 years of age) and while I have not been quite as agressive as you in purging my household, am experiencing far less arthritic pain and abdominal discomfort. The change has been almost immediate and it is difficult not to want to preach the perils of gluten to one and all! I always believed I was eating healthy, but oh my, what I am learning! We all need to be better educated about our food options and take personal responsibility for what we choose to injest and feed our families.

     
    • Wheat Free GG

      April 2, 2012 at 9:31 pm

      I agree Bobbie! I thought I was eating healthy too, and that’s why it was so baffling that I was feeling awful. I am very happy to hear that you are also experiencing relief from pain and discomfort! I also have had a hard time not trying to educate everyone I meet, and that is what led to me creating the blog. I know it won’t stop me from piping up here and there and surprising people in conversation, but it at least lets me share and get things off my chest. I wish I had known years ago… but I also believe that we do have to be ready in order to hear the message, because I was exposed to the idea many, many times before something inside me actually heard it. I am greatly inspired by so many blogs that I have run across since I have been educating myself, and as time goes on I would like to share those other sources with people as well. Community makes all the difference!

       
  2. Elizabeth

    March 28, 2013 at 7:10 am

    I am just starting wheat/gluten free with my 15 yr old daughter, unfortunately my husband and 16 yr old son are not on board so I can’t clean out my pantry to the degree that you have. However, I am baking things and sharing with them. My son loved the focaccia that I made yesterday from the recipe in the Wheat Belly book!
    I have had stomach pains since I was a little girl, followed by years of IBS and chronic reflux requiring daily prescription pills. I also have really bad joint pain and frequent headaches, really hoping this lifestyle change helps. My brain fog has been so bad that I seriously thought I might be losing my mind!
    I am in my 40’s and am only in my first few days of gluten free. I was surprised how expensive the ingredients in the Wheat Belly recipe book are. Almond flour is outrageously expensive 😦
    Gotta go, oven timer is going off… scones coming out of the oven before the kids wake up!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      April 5, 2013 at 12:21 pm

      Hi Elizabeth, I sure hope that you find some answers with your change in diet! It definitely is a life-changer for some people. The almond flour can be expensive, but I honestly think that not trying to immediately recreate all the wheat-containing foods is a better way to start. Focus on the whole foods and then when you see how you feel, start making some more of the recipes. I found a local source (bulk food store) for almond flour that is less expensive than the grocery store, which really helps, though you can also order it online at sites like Nuts.com. The way I look at it, is that I am no longer buying any processed foods in boxes and bags, so the budget I had for those items now goes to specialty flours and coconut oil. Not to mention not buying anti-inflammatories and being miserable… The trade-off is well worth it! ~Gretchen

       

Leave a Reply

 
