RSS

Go Ride a Bike! And a Note of Thankfulness~

04 Apr

It’s been a long time since I’ve had the energy to ride a bike! I know that sounds completely lame, mostly because it IS. But the daily joint pain from the unknown wheat-intolerance really did a number on my body, and my mental state as well. Being free from wicked wheat for barely 2 weeks, and I am ready to RIDE!

I couldn’t resist the slightly retro look of this bike, along with what I think of as the the Black Cherry/Vanilla coloring. But the thing that really won me over (other than a reasonable price point) was the shocks in front AND on my seat post! Like many women, finding a comfortable bike seat was akin to finding a dentist that you look forward to seeing. A myth that didn’t seem to exist for me! So far so good with this one though, and I’ve already enjoyed a couple 5 mile rides with my guys down to the local park and around the neighborhood. It’s really quite exciting! I know that there are plenty of die-hard bike enthusiasts who will snark at my paltry 5 mile outings, but I am thrilled to have the energy and even more thrilled to be pain-free even after riding!

Staying on track with relevance to eating well and feeling well…. I splurged on a front basket which snaps on, and can be removed with the push of a button. I can’t wait to take it to the Farmer’s Market when the season begins, so that I can fill it up with fresh veggies, local honey and artisanal cheeses.Yeah Baby, yeahhh!

And I would be remiss if I didn’t thank my wonderful husband for being so supportive, and urging me to buy the bike when he saw that I was serious about feeling well enough to use it. He really rocks in so many ways! I wish that everyone was as fortunate to have a built-in support system, because it really does make all the difference to me. He was also the one that urged me to “write baby!” He has always loved my cooking whether it was normal fare or now the gluten-free variety, and he has also always tried to prod me into writing down my recipes, which I was far too distracted and/or lazy to do. I just feel bad that it took me so long to get on board with it!

So, no recipe today (since I have been eating left-over soup), just a celebratory post of feeling well, and being thankful that I found one of the keys to improved health for myself. I wish that I could reach out to every person that is feeling chronic joint and body pain, and convince them to simply TRY going wheat and gluten-free for a week, and see if they feel better. If you don’t, no biggie, but if you do…. go ride a bike!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
