RSS

Low-Carb, Cheesy-Crackery Goodness (GF, WF)

10 Apr

Yay! If you read my earlier post about purging the wheat from my cupboards, you might recall that Cheezits were a treat that would be missed at our house. This healthy recipe isn’t an exact match, but the tangy crunch definitely helps satisfy the urge to snack in a way that isn’t going to trash your low-carb diet! I originally found the recipe here, at Food.com, and I altered it slightly to suit our tastes. The almond and coconut flours are low-glycemic and have minimal effect on blood sugar. The original recipe called for forming balls and then flattening them into disks on the cookie sheet, and baking at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. We found that we enjoyed a thinner cracker, and that the bake time even for the thicker version needed to be reduced to 7-8 minutes at a slightly lower temperature. This is a snack that my teenage son can take in his lunch that doesn’t appear to be “different”. It can be especially challenging to feed a young person a gluten-free diet when social pressures are a major fact of life. I am learning as I go, but I do try to make lunch look as “normal” as possible for him. I am always open to suggestions from anyone else who is feeding a (picky) gluten-free teen!

Low-Carb Cheese Crackers

  • 1/2 C Coconut flour
  • 1/2 C Blanched almond flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 C Melted butter
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 C Finely shredded sharp cheddar or other tangy cheese
  • 1/4 tsp Onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp Garlic powder
  • dash of Cayenne pepper

Blend almond flour, eggs, butter, salt, cheese and seasonings. Add coconut flour and knead well for 2-3 minutes until dough forms. Divide dough in half and flatten into 2, 1″ thick squarish disks, wrap in cellophane and refrigerate for 2 hours or until firm. Preheat oven to 380 degrees. Using a sharp knife, cut thin layers off the block, about 1/8″ inch thick (like slicing a mini bread loaf). Cut strips into approximately 1″ squares, and arrange on cookie sheet. Using parchment will help prevent sticking. Bake for about 5-6minutes, or until edges just start to brown. Remove from sheet and serve immediately, or store in air-tight container.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Low-Carb, Cheesy-Crackery Goodness (GF, WF)

  1. Linda Topel

    April 10, 2012 at 8:59 am

    ….This is awesome Gretchen… I to am going gluten free to feel better…. have more energy lose weight and lower my BP….we really are what we eat ….so when you just don’t feel up to par , check your plate …. Linda

     
  2. Wheat Free GG

    April 10, 2012 at 9:06 am

    Hi Linda! I’m glad you visited me here 🙂 Check back for more GF recipes; I am learning as I go. I have been off gluten for a couple weeks, and I feel SO much better. Aches and pains have decreased by 90%, energy is better, bloating is gone, and I have dropped 8-9lbs so far. Aside from losing weight, being pain-free is well worth the change to me!

     
  3. kayennepeppa

    April 10, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    These sound great! CHeezits are one thing I miss. Those and sour cream and cheddar ruffles. If i ever get my hands on these flours you can bet I’ll be making these.

     
  4. Wheat Free GG

    April 10, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    Thanks, I’m glad you liked the recipe! If you do any gluten-free baking, you might want to look into the almond and coconut flours, and you can get them several places online… I bought mine at http://www.nuts.com and have been really pleased with the quality so far. Of course that is a dangerous site, so many things I want to try there!

     

Leave a Reply

 
