RSS

Crunchy Hot Wings and Blue Cheese

12 Apr

OK, first things first… if you are a chicken purist, and think that parboiling is akin to software pirating, please discontinue reading and forget you were ever here!

On the other hand, if you don’t mind some kitchen short-cuts to yummy, crunchy wings, that aren’t deep fried, you are in luck! This is the wings method I have been using for several years, though I don’t recall quite where the idea came from. I vary the sauce depending on what we are craving, and what’s in the fridge, but this is a pretty basic mild hot-wings style I have going here. It’s reassuring that one of our faves does NOT have to be altered to be gluten-free! I am watching the carbs though, so I stayed away from the sweet sauce this time around.

First, the Blue Cheese Dressing: Again, I admit that I really don’t measure things that I make frequently. To make a small batch of dressing, I would use about 4oz softened cream cheese, 1/4C mayo (regular or light), a few tablespoons of crumbled blue cheese or Gorgonzola, freshly ground black pepper, and maybe a pinch of rice wine vinegar. Combine well, and refrigerate for an hour or so to let the flavors come together. Simple! If it is too thick when you remove it from the fridge, just add a little milk.

To make the Wings: Thaw chicken wing sections (if frozen) and cover with water in a stock pot. Bring to a boil and cook for about 10 minutes. Next, line a cookie sheet with foil to make clean-up easier, and arrange wings. Broil on medium heat for 8-10 minutes, turn over and finish broiling another 8-10 minutes until wings are crispy and cooked through.

Sauce: Meanwhile, whip up a sauce of your choosing to coat the wings. I used about 1/4 cup of Frank’s RedHot sauce, a few tablespoons of butter and a dash of Ken’s Steakhouse Lite Raspberry Vinaigrette dressing, heated in the microwave about 90 seconds, until the butter melts. (I have also used Asian marinades, BBQ sauce, minced garlic, fresh ginger, dried ginger, sesame oil, soy, hot pepper flakes, pretty much anything you enjoy.) Place the wings in a large bowl and pour the sauce over the top; toss to coat.

Kitchen Tip: I usually serve with celery and sometimes carrot sticks. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I get just as excited about celery leaves as I do about the celery stalks! I always save the leaves and dry them so that I can add them to soups. I just put the leaves on a paper plate and rearrange them every so often to help them dry over the course of a couple days. I think I may be one of the only people who choose their celery by how many leaves they have!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Crunchy Hot Wings and Blue Cheese

  1. Dish Aesthetic

    April 12, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    Yum!

     
  2. trialsinfood

    April 12, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    Looks yummy. I normally cook my wings in the oven. This reminds me I haven’t made them in a long time…

     
    • Wheat Free GG

      April 12, 2012 at 8:54 pm

      Ever since I started baking mine, I have never even considered frying them. So much less mess and fewer ingredients! For some reason, parboiling first seems to make them crunchier, if you like them that way.

       
  3. Val

    June 23, 2012 at 10:56 am

    Hi,
    Thanks for these recipes that I will try. Reading about you and your hubby’s weightloss by omitting wheat has inspired me to keep going. My weight seems to jump up n down 4 lbs. No wheat for 2 weeks. Did you find that happened ?Thanks for your blog.

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      June 23, 2012 at 11:25 am

      Hi Val, you are very welcome!

      I am glad that you are inspired, and hang in there! We absolutely DO go up and down a little, and that will probably continue throughout your journey. We find fluctuations on an almost daily basis, (and frankly, I am pretty sure that it happens more with women than it does with men, as we have more hormonal issues going on as well.) Our average weight loss over time is about 2 lbs a week. Sometimes we lose 2 lbs in a week, sometimes 0, sometimes 4… but it all averages out.

      Remember, getting rid of wheat will add health benefits for sure, but it is combining wheat free with Low Carb that does the magic with weight loss. It is important to get rid of the sugar and processed foods, even if they are “gluten free”, because it’s those that give you spikes in blood sugar. It can be challenging at first, but once you find your “groove”, it gets a LOT easier! I don’t ever want to go back to eating the other way, this feels so much healthier to me, all the way around.

      Good luck, and look at it as a long term plan and a change in lifestyle!

       

Leave a Reply

 
