RSS

Strawberry Quick! Ice Cream Naughtiness…

26 Apr

Ice Cream without gluten or added sugars…..

It wouldn’t be hard to guess that my favorite desserts are sweet and creamy, and cold, and melty… yes, ice cream is a treat I don’t even like to think of going without! The problem is that the low carb versions still have ingredients in them that I would rather steer clear of, so this is my first attempt at a sugar-free ice cream. It is extremely simple and sweetened only with strawberries and Stevia powder. I will admit that the Stevia is an acquired taste, but I know that eating sugar is something I want to avoid for a number of reasons, so I am acclimating myself to using Stevia as a sweetener. My son likes it, but my husband can’t quite get used to the taste, and will add other things on top of his ice cream or cheesecake, to help mask the flavor.

The original recipe is here. If you like using Stevia as a sweetener, this should be right up your alley! This recipe also uses raw organic eggs, which doesn’t bother us in the least, but you could try a substitute if you are squeamish about using them raw, or heat the eggs into a custard first…. but what appealed to me about this treat, is that it is super-duper FAST! No cooling of custard to fool with. I did change the recipe to 3 C of heavy cream instead of the mix of light cream and milk, in order to avoid the milk sugars as much as possible. I am not sure as I would go so far as to say this would be considered “healthy” ice cream, but it is Gluten Free and free from added sugars. I think next time I will jazz up the pale color with a little beet juice!

ย ย  Stevia Strawberry Ice Cream

  • 2 Organic eggs, raw and beaten
  • 2 C Heavy Cream plus 1 C more to puree berries
  • 1/2 tsp Stevia powder (this may vary depending on what form of Stevia you use, definitely start with less and add to taste)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 C frozen Strawberries

Combine eggs, cream, Stevia and vanilla in a bowl. Use a blender (I like my Ninja) to chop the frozen strawberries, using a little extra cream to loosen them a bit. When the berries seem incorporated into the cream and are the consistency that you would like in your ice cream, add the egg mixture and blend thoroughly. The mixture will be a bit stiff because of the frozen berries. If you don’t have an ice cream freezer, you could probably dish this up now as a soft serve, but I chilled it for about 20 minutes in my Cuisinart Ice Cream maker. (I LOVE that gadget!) Keep in freezer and use within a few days for freshness. If your ice cream freezes too hard, just thaw for 30 seconds at a time in the microwave to loosen it up.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Strawberry Quick! Ice Cream Naughtiness…

  1. Bunny Maita

    April 26, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    Delicious!

     
  2. trialsinfood

    April 26, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    looks yummy! i wished i had an ice cream maker.

     
    • Wheat Free GG

      April 26, 2012 at 3:13 pm

      Shhhh, don’t tell… but I bought mine at a thrift store! ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s something that I am so glad to have, it would have even been worth the retail price!

       
  3. Mila Bulic

    November 10, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    You don’t really need an ice cream maker, just more patience. The ice cream maker “stirs” while it freezes to keep ice crystals from forming, so all you need to do is this: take the icecream out of the freezer every 1/2-1hour (depending on how cold your freezer is) and use your hand mixer to beat some air into it. Once it can no longer be beaten with a hand mixer, you don’t need to mix it any more and you should have very few, if any, ice crystals. You don’t even need an electric hand mixer if you have the strength to beat by hand.

    Anyway, I’m curious–you don’t cook your custard first? This is not a criticism–just a question because I always thought you had to cook the egg custard type of icecream. I think I’m going to try this–I just picked up a kilo of fresh strawberries at the market this morning and I put them, whole, into the freezer knowing I was going to make some sort of low-carb frozen dessert with them. Now I know what that will be.

    I just subscribed to your blog as I have recently (this past April) gone paleo. Many of the recipes on other sites look inedible but yours———-YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      November 13, 2012 at 4:13 pm

      Hi Mila, thank you for following!
      You can whip this up however you like ๐Ÿ™‚ I do have an ice cream maker, and when I didn’t, I used your method a time or two. I have plenty of patience, but what I often lack is time, so using frozen fruit to make a quick version of ice cream is what I do when we have a craving and 5 minutes to spare ๐Ÿ˜‰ I personally have no issue using raw eggs, but to each their own. I have made MANY cooked custards, both frozen and not frozen, and it’s a totally different animal. To be honest, most of the time, I just put frozen berries in my Ninja, add some heavy cream (no eggs) and a little sweetener (mostly using Swerve or Truvia these days) and blend it up! Sometimes I’ll go the extra step of freezing it first, but not usually. That’s my go-to low-carb quick treat. I hope you enjoy the recipes here, and I’ll continue to add more as time allows. ~Gretchen

       

Leave a Reply

 
