RSS

Why Gluten Free for Me? Reasons I Deleted the Wheat!

26 Apr

It’s been just over a month since I cut out wheat and gluten in my diet, and went low carb. If you read the veryyyy first post on my blog, you will have some idea of the health issues that made me decide to try going gluten-free. I will say up front, that I have not been formally diagnosed with gluten intolerance or celiac disease (and I have noticed in the food intolerance/health community, that some people really frown on self-diagnosis. To this I say, OH WELL!) I made a simple experiment with my diet to eliminate something I felt might be toxic, and the results were nothing short of miraculous. I am not about to start eating wheat again so that I can be diagnosed formally, when I already know that the treatment IS abstaining from wheat. Even if there was a drug to take instead, I would still choose to be gluten-free.

Here are some results I have experienced during the past month:

  • Immediate relief (within 2 days) of abdominal bloating that made me feel much more comfortable, and clothes fit better (same with husband).
  • Joint pain and inflammation 90% gone, within 3 or 4 days. I had been experiencing shoulder, hip and knee pain that had been worsening for a couple years, and often interfered with sleep and exercise (my son also experienced disappearance of joint pain).
  • Decreased appetite and craving for sweets and carbohydrates (same with husband) after the first couple weeks.
  • Haven’t had a headache bad enough to take Motrin in a MONTH, when I used to take it up to several times a week for headaches that could last 3-4 days
  • IBS symptoms lessened, but not gone. (Currently researching other possible causes for issues, such as low stomach acid and pancreatic enzymes, or other food intolerances.)
  • Lost 10 lbs over the course of the month (and my husband did as well.) I didn’t start with the goal of losing weight, but I am thrilled that I have! 

In my mind, there isn’t much that’s more personal than the choice of what we put into our bodies. To make any thoughtful decision to eat a thing or not to eat a thing, is taking responsibility and accountability for our own health. As a society, we have given over a large part of these critical choices to a fast food and processed food mentality, which has speed and profit in mind, not health and wellness (which is the point of eating in the first place.) Nutrition is sacrificed for convenience, and at a price so high, that our health as a nation is likely worse than it has ever been. Good thing the pharmaceutical industry has our back with all those handy-dandy (side-effect laden) medications!

Obviously, I have a lot of misgivings about the current state of our food industry, and that is for reasons too numerous to detail. As a family, there are some changes we were able to make immediately, and there are others that we are working on sourcing out in an affordable way, such as locally farmed beef and poultry. (I have no plans to become vegan or vegetarian, however, I do strongly believe in humane treatment of animals during their lifetime in addition to skipping all the chemicals.)

In the past weeks, I have done endless research about the effects of gluten, and how to eat healthfully without grains, and I will continue to do so, and occasionally share my findings here. I will say though, that the book Wheat Belly by Dr. William Davis, is an EXCELLENT starting point to regaining health and wellness through properly feeding the systems of the body. His book is a compelling combination of personal experiences and scientific data that went a long ways towards explaining to me WHY I felt the way I did, both before and after. The reason I say that his book is brilliant as a starting point, is that for many people, wheat is likely to be the largest, quiet toxin in their diet, and once it is eliminated, it makes room to pinpoint further issues without wheat muddying the waters, so to speak. The results vary from person to person, as we are all unique in our make-up and history, but I believe strongly that the majority of people could find benefits from going wheat free. I have seen that many people discover other intolerances and sensitivities as well as deficiencies in certain bodily systems as they begin to get clean, and I am in the process of investigating these things for my own situation.

When I read opinions and consider factual studies, I also take into consideration whether the person or agency has any benefit to be gained by convincing people that what they are saying (selling) is valid. Critical thinking plays a large part in my personal research, and it pays to question things and seek out a variety of resources, especially those that are contrary to each other. In doing this, I have found that those who are opposing the health benefits of whole grains, aren’t out to make a profit from this point of view, they are trying to give people the power to make informed decisions and break addictions! If the author of Wheat Belly, Dr. Davis, was only out to make money by selling copies of his book, he wouldn’t have such an informative blog where he takes a personal interest in the people who post and query him about this topic. Instead, it is obvious that he has in mind helping to open peoples’ eyes so that they are able to regain their health.

While I am doing my best to live up to the dietary recommendations in Wheat Belly, I know that I am not the gold standard with the recipes and foods that I post, but I am sharing what types of things we are eating in my home, in the hopes of helping people who need a few new ideas, or are even possibly overwhelmed by the task of eating differently. I consider recipes from many sources, some gluten-free, some traditional, some Paleo… while other postings are just a peek into the way I cook at home, and some of the methods I use in my kitchen. I urge readers to play with the recipes and adjust them to your tastes and dietary needs, as there is no such thing as a “one-size-fits-all” plan for health and wellness. I am thankful for comments and “likes” from the blogworld, and enjoy the sharing and positivity that is happening here!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Why Gluten Free for Me? Reasons I Deleted the Wheat!

  1. theprimevaltongue

    April 26, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    I’m so happy to see all of the positive results you’ve gained from going low-carb/gluten free! I’ve just begun my journey into the low carb lifestyle and would love to keep in touch with you.
    Best of luck in your continuing journey!
    Megan

     
    • Wheat Free GG

      April 26, 2012 at 5:33 pm

      Thank you Megan! It is a huge step, but regardless of the effort, it has been so worth it for us. I just wish I had known 20 years ago! Please do stay in touch, the more the merrier!

       
  2. catrinamuhle

    April 26, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    Great article. I have been Gluten free for nine months now. Not only do I look a lot better, I feel a lot better. I have Ulcerative Colitis and since becoming gluten free, I control it only with diet. I take no medication and feel great!

     
    • Wheat Free GG

      April 26, 2012 at 5:39 pm

      Thank you! It is amazing, isn’t it… what we can achieve through diet?! Congratulations on your health success, it is one of the best feelings in the world 🙂

       
  3. sweetopiagirl

    April 26, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    Reblogged this on InspiredWeightloss!.

     
    • Wheat Free GG

      April 26, 2012 at 8:06 pm

      Thank you for reposting and following my blog… visit anytime!

       
      • sweetopiagirl

        April 26, 2012 at 10:53 pm

        Thank you for letting me know that I can stop by anytime and you are welcome to my blog as well! 🙂

         
  4. Chrissy

    April 28, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    I wish we could “like” posts on here like on facebook! this is just like reading about me…I’m so glad I came across this on the Wheat Belly blog! I was sick for years and if I’d known that eliminating wheat would cure my problems that fast (in some ways made them worse tho because now if I get the tiniest crumb I’m sick for a week) I’d have given it up years ago! thank you for doing this!

     
    • Wheat Free GG

      April 29, 2012 at 12:32 pm

      Welcome Chrissy, I’m glad that you came across this as well! You actually can “like” posts here, there should be an option at the bottom of each post. I am still a little in shock that eliminating a food could have such a drastic positive impact on my health. It seems like more doctors would be aware of the systemic issues that result from intolerances, and use screening instead of always prescribing meds. The more I learn, the more I realize that my health is in MY own hands.

       
  5. cooktocure

    May 2, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    When I had my Cafe in Berkeley a couple of years ago, I decided to offer a home made GF Chocolate Chip cookie. . .you’d think I invented sliced bread!! I had students from CAL texting their friends about the cookies. I soon realized that my Gluten Free customer base was huge! A friend of mine baked an amazing GF focaccia for me to use for sandwiches, and we became famous for our GF Waffles with stuff on top you wouldn’t dream of. 🙂 Cheers!

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      May 2, 2012 at 2:59 pm

      That’s excellent! It’s funny, until I started really paying close attention, I had no idea how many people were going without grain and gluten. I still have a ways to go to feel the way I hope for, but I have already made valuable strides in overall health and pain management. Thanks for the visit!

       
  6. msmckibbon

    May 16, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    Wow, the more I read your blog the more I love it. Your thoughts and even, in many ways, your path to going wheat/gluten-free and certainly your symptom improvements afterwards so closely mirror mine that it’s as if I wrote it myself – except that you’re a much better writer than I am. I’m really looking forward to looking around some more and to your future posts. Keep up the brilliant work!

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      May 16, 2012 at 10:52 pm

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I started writing the blog because I felt so compelled to share my experience and results! I know how badly many people are hurting, and how terrible they feel… and I know that (at least for me and my family) going gluten free was absolutely life changing. My hope is that my words or recipes can make the transition easier for others who may be struggling to make the change. I have always cooked most of our meals as opposed to eating out, so the change was easier for me than it might be for some others who relied more on take out food; I hope my (mostly) simple recipes make it easier!

       

Leave a Reply

 
