RSS

Parmesan Perch (Gluten-free and Wheat-free) with Roasted Brussel Sprouts

27 Apr

Can you tell that we love fish? Perch is one of the more delicate varieties and I used to serve it up pan-fried, with tartar, and maybe french fries or baked potato. I decided that instead of subbing out flours and attempting to do a different version of pan-frying, I would bake it in the oven and find a substitute for bread crumbs instead, and the results were really delicious! This recipe doesn’t yield a crunchy breading, it is a little on the softer side, and very flavorful, complimenting the mildness of the perch.

Low-Carb “breaded” perch; No Wheat or Gluten.

Parmesan Perch

  • 1 1/2 lbs of fresh Perch filets
  • 1/4 C mayonnaise blended with 1 Tb heavy cream 
  • 1 C grated fresh Parmesan cheese
  • 2 Tb Coconut flour
  • 2 sprigs fresh Parsley (or 2 tsp dry) or Thyme
  • Garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper, cayenne pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. I used my Ninja to process ingredients, but you can also use a food processor. I started with chunked Parmesan, so I zipped it until it was the consistency of grated, then I added the coconut flour, parsley and other seasonings and processed again until they were fine and completely combined. Line a baking sheet with parchment, and coat with non-stick cooking spray. Dredge the fish lightly in the mayo mixture and then press into the cheese crumbs, arrange on baking sheet. Bake for about 15 minutes, or until the fish is firm, but flaky, and the coating is beginning to brown.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts: Simply cut each sprout in half and remove the tough and bitter stem end. Toss in a healthy oil (I used walnut oil this time), arrange in baking dish, and season as desired with salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder, or anything your heart desires. Roast at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Parmesan Perch (Gluten-free and Wheat-free) with Roasted Brussel Sprouts

  1. Linda Black

    April 27, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    Hi Gretchen. I just found your blog after reading Dr. Davis’ blog. I’ve been on a journey lately trying to figure out the healthest way to eat and have found it very confusing and contradictory. My grandson, which is one, is allergic to wheat, peanuts, eggs, and soy. We’ve “felt sorry” for him, I guess you could say, but maybe it’s a blessing in disguise after reading about the harmful reactions to wheat so many people seem to have. I decided this morning to go wheat free with him so “he wouldn’t be alone” and maybe in doing this, will finally find relief and healing from digestive problems I’ve had for years. I’ve pinned some of your recipies and plan on telling my daughter about your website this weekend. Just looking at your recipes and pictures are making me “hungry for the good stuff”. Thanks for taking the time to help us out that aren’t knowledgable about this new way of cooking!
    Linda

     
    • Wheat Free GG

      April 27, 2012 at 12:33 pm

      Hi Linda, I’m glad you found me here! I am so glad to know that you are going to try the wheat-free diet and see how it works for you. I know that everyone is different, but there is no question that some people have remarkable results by eating this way. I know it has changed our lives here. It can be confusing when you first start to figure out what you can and can’t eat, but within a couple weeks, you will probably find a few good staples that you enjoy and can build from there. I am basically just posting the things that we are eating here for normal weekday meals, but I am also trying to share a bit of what I am learning along the way. I try to include some sweets, even though we don’t eat a lot of them, but I am avoiding the high carb gluten-free baking. I believe it is through community that we will all get the best individual results! You are welcome to visit anytime, and thank you for passing it along to your daughter. Have a great weekend! ~Gretchen

       
  2. Linda Black

    April 27, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    Thanks Gretchen! I’ve also been reading about sugar and how some think it’s a toxin, so already cut that way back. It is nice to have an occasional sweet treat and I’m sure yours will be as healthy as they can get. I’m from the South and was brought up on lots of good vegetables. We have a good garden growing now and we grow organic so I know I won’t starve! lol but it will be nice to have your recipes to make things a little more interesting! It will be a lot easier for me to give up wheat than it would be to give up meat! Being from the South, we do have the reputation of frying everything and I must admit, that use to be the case, but we’re coming around. 🙂

     
    • Wheat Free GG

      April 27, 2012 at 1:10 pm

      It sounds like you already have a great foundation! I am just getting my garden started for the year, and can’t wait to have my own fresh veggies in season again. It’s funny, one of the things I have had to adapt to, is eating more meat and fat, because I tended towards lower fat before, but clearly I had too many carbs, without even realizing it. I am truly appreciating how “clean” it feels to eat this way, I don’t know how else to describe it. I am so much more in touch with the ingredients, it feels like a blessing, not a curse! And like you, I would much rather give up processed foods and wheat than give up meat or my veggies!

       
  3. melissadishes

    May 14, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    I will have to try this recipe for fish. I am always trying to get us to eat more!

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      May 14, 2012 at 5:14 pm

      Oh good, I hope you do! Even if you aren’t aiming for low carb, it’s a really tasty way to make it, and it works for chicken tenders as well.

       

Leave a Reply

 
