RSS

Recipe: In LOVE with Almond Flour, and a Gluten-Free Raspberry Streusel Bar!

03 May

Only lightly sweet, these bars are great as dessert or a breakfast bar.

Soooo, I have been gluten-free for just over a month now (applause, woooohoooo), and am getting the hang of using nuts flours. The almond flour from Nuts.com is simply one of the best things in my cupboard these days! I finally ordered a 5lb bag instead of a couple 1lb bags here and there. I know it’s much more expensive than standard flour, but we aren’t eating packaged, processed foods, so wholesome ingredients sort of take the place of those unhealthy items in our grocery budget.We also rarely go out to eat because there are so few gluten-free choices locally, so that also helps with the grocery expense.

I have steered clear of high carb treats, but we still have an itch for a buttery crust or a fruity zing every once in awhile, and these Raspberry Streusel Bars from Elana’s blog are a perfect answer! I changed the recipe slightly because we aren’t vegan (I used some real butter), and the fruit spread I had wasn’t sugar-free, so I used half as much and added frozen blackberries to the fruit layer. I used some erythritol sweetener instead of xylitol because the latter is poisonous to dogs, so I don’t have it in my house. With or without my changes, these are amazingly good! The boys raved, I raved, and I will have to make more soon because they were inhaled at breakfast this morning! If you are going totally without carbs, the fruit spread in this might be a stopper, but you could make or purchase a low sugar fruit spread in its place. I plan to fiddle with this recipe in the future, using the base and topping as is, and changing up the fillings, to find a very low carb balance that will still be satisfying. For now, enjoy this recipe!

Gluten-Free Raspberry Streusel Bars

Crust:

  • 2C blanched almond flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 2T coconut oil (or butter)
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • 1T water
  • 1 packet Truvia (optional)

Filling:

  • 1/2C raspberry fruit spread
  • 1/2C frozen blackberries, or raspberries, roughly chopped

Topping:

  • 1/4C butter (or coconut oil)
  • 1/4C blanched almond flour
  • 2T erythritol
  • couple pinches of salt
  • 1C walnuts
  • 1/2C unsweetened coconut flakes

Heat oven to 350 degrees. In a food processor, combine all crust ingredients together and process until incorporated. (I lined a 9×9″ square pan with baking parchment to make removal of the bars easier, but you can also use an unlined Pyrex baking dish as Elana does.) Press into baking dish evenly, and bake for 12 minutes.

Layer fruit spread evenly over warm crust, and top with chopped berries.

In food processor, combine butter, almond flour, sweetener and salt, and process until smooth and creamy. Add walnuts and coconut and process a bit more, but not so much that the nuts break down and lose texture. Sprinkle topping mixture over fruit layer, pressing topping down a little, and bake for 15 minutes.

Let cool slightly on counter top, then refrigerate for 2 hours before serving to allow the bars to firm up.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Recipe: In LOVE with Almond Flour, and a Gluten-Free Raspberry Streusel Bar!

  1. glutenvygirl

    May 3, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    Sounds great!
    We love almond flour:)

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      May 3, 2012 at 12:14 pm

      Almond and coconut flours are so good, mmmmm. This recipe is so easy, and delicious!

       
  2. Chrissy

    May 3, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    oh my goodness this sounds soo good! can’t wait to try it!

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      May 3, 2012 at 4:38 pm

      I hope you do try it! I just bought some low sugar raspberry spread today so that I can make it again and feel better about the carbs!

       
  3. Chrissy

    May 19, 2012 at 10:02 am

    I finally got my almond flour in the mail yesterday and this is the first thing I’m going to make but all I have is splenda…both granular and packets. Can you tell me how much splenda to substitute for the erythritol? Oh yeah, I also have a partial bottle of Agave syrup, whichever is better. Thanks!

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      May 19, 2012 at 2:14 pm

      Oh yay that you have almond flour to experiment with! I don’t use Splenda myself, but erythritol is pretty close to sugar in quantity… so I would say however much Spenda it takes to equal 2Tb of sugar would be pretty close. You might want to start with less and taste it to see. (Honestly, I am not that crazy about the straight erythritol, even though I have used it a few times, I find that I am preferring Truvia and stevia.) I haven’t done any cooking with agave, but the crumbly topping would likely be better consistency with a dry sweetener. Good luck, and let me know how you like them!

       
      • Chrissy

        May 19, 2012 at 10:01 pm

        If I use the stevia (just found a box of the green packets) how much would it be? That’s definitely stronger than sugar. 🙂

         
      • Gretchen without Gluten

        May 20, 2012 at 7:22 pm

        It is so hard to judge different substitutions because they vary so much. I have stevia powder that is nearly 400x stronger than sugar, so that would literally be a tiny pinch, but what you have in packets is probably less intense. Perhaps the packaging will tell you how it compares to sugar in sweetness. I am not well-versed enough in alternative sweeteners to confidently answer your question… sorry about that! I tend to taste as I go when I am learning about new ingredients and techniques.

         

Leave a Reply

 
