RSS

Quick Eggy Breakfast

04 May

Broccoli Mushroom Scramble

Yesterday was a tough day… NO energy, extreme fatigue, ugh! It made me wonder whether I had accidentally ingested some gluten because “brain fog” is an understatement to how I was feeling! Without body aches and pains though, I had to think it was something else. One thing about going off gluten and eating low carb, is that my appetite isn’t what it once was, and I sometimes forget to eat… so last night my hubby busted me for not having breakfast and snacks during the day. It’s harder to eat when you’re not hungry!

Today I decided to make sure I had a nice dose of protein to start my day, along with a few mineral-rich veggies tossed in to round things out. I can’t say yet whether it will get my energy back on track, but I am hoping so!

What do you do differently when you notice that you are fatigued?
Does it help you to address it with diet?
Do you have any tips or tricks to share? I would love to hear them!!!

Broccoli Mushroom Scramble

  • 1 Tb olive oil or butter
  • 3 small stalks baby broccoli
  • 1/4 C sliced crimini mushrooms
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tb cream
  • 2 Tb sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 roma tomato, sliced

Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat, and saute broccoli, mushrooms and garlic gently for a couple minutes, until broccoli is tender. Beat eggs with cream and add to pan, scrambling just like normal scrambled eggs. When the eggs are almost done, add the cheese and transfer to a plate along with the sliced tomatoes.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Quick Eggy Breakfast

  1. steve helmer

    August 24, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    wow!!! love your recipe, but as to the fatigue thing, l wish somebody would help me with that, you are right, about eating, l feel full most of the time, but since going grain free and low carb, my quick energy is not there, maybe one thing i did use when i was not eating low carb and it help boost my day was whey powder shake, low carb and just use berries or honey for sweetener, l also used grass-fed whey, very expensive, but it goes a long way, hope this helps.
    Steve

     
  2. Gretchen without Grain

    August 24, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    Hey Steve, I wrote this back in May, when I was maybe 4-5 weeks into the lifestyle. Luckily the fatigue is a thing of the past 🙂 I have good, steady energy now that I am fully adapted to burning fat as fuel, and I sleep loads better as well. Thank you for the suggestions though 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
