RSS

Smoothie Sailing into the Weekend!

05 May

Strawberries, Kefir, celery, apple and blackberries make a delicious light smoothie.

Just a quick breakfast post to start a weekend of light and healthy eating! We have always been fans of the smoothie at our house, with varying degrees of healthfulness (ice cream can be in a smoothie, right??), and since changing our eating style, I am going to be exploring raw food smoothies as a way to boost energy and health.

This particular mixture was based on making my son a strawberry smoothie for breakfast, but I wanted to add a few other things in there to help with nutrients and energy. This is not low carb with the fruits that are included, but strawberries and blackberries are among the healthiest fruits to eat on a low carb diet, so I’m not feeling too guilty! 

Saturday Breakfast Smoothie

  • 1 C fresh strawberries
  • 1 golden delicious apple, peeled and cored
  • 1 stalk celery, ribs removed
  • handful of frozen blackberries
  • 1/2 C Kefir
  • 1/4 C low sugar cranberry pomegranate juice
  • 4 ice cubes
  • 1 Tb honey

I started by blending the strawberries, apple and celery in my Ninja with the kefir until fairly smooth, then added all other ingredients except the honey. I blended this a good bit longer than usual to make sure that it was indeed, very smooth. I poured my glass without any honey or sweetener, but then added the honey into the remainder for my son, to help him ease a sore throat. 2 servings.

I know this is probably a lightweight in the smoothie category, and I do plan to explore the “green smoothies” in the future. It wasn’t until his drink was half gone that I told my son that there was celery in it, he had NO idea. He thought it was pretty cool, yay! Just wait til he starts drinking spinach, hehe.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Smoothie Sailing into the Weekend!

  1. cooktocure

    May 5, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    Hi. I love your blog and I wanted you to know that I nominated you for the Liebster Award. Keep up the good work!

    The Liebster, which means ‘favorite’ in German, is a way to recognize your favorite blogs that have fewer than 200 followers. What a great and supportive way to get the word out about up and coming blogs!

    When you receive the Liebster award, you are supposed to do the following:

    Choose five up and coming blogs to give the Liebster award to. Blogs must have less than 200 followers.
    Show your thanks to the blogger who gave you the award by linking back to them.
    Post the award on your blog.
    List the bloggers you gave the award to with links to their sites. Leave a comment on their blogs to let them know they’ve received the award.
    Share five random facts about yourself.

    Cheers! ~ Hoda

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      May 7, 2012 at 10:16 am

      Thank you so much! I appreciate the kind words and I enjoy your blog as well. I will need to give some thought to creating a proper thank you post 😉 and name some of the blogs that I am enjoying as well.

       

Leave a Reply

 
