RSS

Seared Sea Scallops with Sauteed Greens and Mushrooms

14 May

Seared Sea Scallops with Sauteed Greens and Mushrooms

I usually determine what we’ll eat by what I find on sale or fresh at the market. I rarely go out looking for specific ingredients unless I am preparing food for guests, or because one of us has a serious craving. The seafood sale at VG’s on jumbo sea scallops is what landed them in my freezer, and pulling them out for Mother’s Day dinner seemed like a brilliant idea! (Except to my son, who won’t eat anything that swims… for him it was crisped ham.) These were particularly large and beautiful, and the 6 scallops weighed just over a pound.

While the weather was stunning on Sunday and I considered grilling, scallops are so delicate (and I only had a few), that I wanted to have more control over the cooking process so that they didn’t end up overcooked. That is one of my biggest pet peeves in the food world, going to a restaurant, ordering something that should be succulent, and ending up with an expensive platter of rubbery food. Not that it doesn’t happen to the best of us at times, but ruined seafood makes me want to cry!

I had fresh spinach and turnip greens in the fridge, along with crimini mushrooms, and decided that they would make an awesome accompaniment to the seared scallops, along with a caprese salad of tomato, fresh mozzarella and herbs. It turned out to be an incredible dinner!

Seared Sea Scallops with Sauteed Greens and Mushrooms

To make the scallops:

  • 1lb sea scallops, fresh or thawed and dried of excess moisture
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • coconut oil

Heat a heavy pan over high heat for several minutes. Add several tablespoons of coconut oil, allowing it to melt and then become hot. Carefully add the scallops one at a time, searing on one side for about 3 minutes, or until they start to brown. (If using smaller scallops, adjust the time accordingly so that they are not overcooked.) Gently turn scallops, carefully loosening from the pan with a sharp spatula if needed; cook another 3 minutes and remove from pan and set aside. Reserve oil and juices in pan and cook mushrooms as below.

To make the mushrooms:

  • 1/2 lb crimini mushrooms, sliced
  • remaining oil and juice, plus more coconut oil if needed
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4C-1/2C white wine to deglaze pan

Keeping the pan hot from searing the scallops, add the mushrooms, salt and pepper to taste, and cook for 5 minutes or so, until they reach the desired doneness. You may need to add a little oil because ‘shrooms can act like little sponges and soak it up. In my case, I hadn’t planned on using the wine, but there was a little stickage at the bottom of the pan (as you can see in the pic) after cooking the scallops, so when the mushrooms were almost done, I just poured in the wine (honey mead actually), and deglazed, working all the stuck bits into a delicious flavoring for the mushrooms. When done, remove mushrooms from pan and set aside. Keeping the pan hot, reserving any remaining juices and oil, and continue to cook the greens as below.

To make the greens:

  • 1lb of fresh, cleaned, greens (I used about half spinach and half turnip greens)
  • coconut oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4C pinenuts to garnish

Still using the same pan, melt a little more oil if needed and start adding the greens to the pan. Greens cook down a LOT, so you will want to add them in stages, because they will be overflowing if you dump all of them in at once. When the greens are wilted, add salt and pepper to taste, and cook to your desired doneness.

To assemble the plate: Arrange greens on the plate, top with scallops, surrounded by mushrooms. I added a few pinenuts to add another flavor and texture. This is a very easy and elegant dinner, which cooks up rather quickly, using the same pan for each stage of the cooking process, while keeping the ingredients separate and distinct until they are plated.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Seared Sea Scallops with Sauteed Greens and Mushrooms

  1. Hannah

    May 15, 2012 at 10:16 am

    My husband loves scallops AND mushrooms – definitely need to try this one!
    http://www.everydayprimal.wordpress.com

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      May 15, 2012 at 11:49 am

      It was so good, and pretty quick to prepare too… which gets more important for us as the weather gets nicer and I want to spend less time in the kitchen! Thank you for your comments and following!

       
  2. atableinthesun

    May 15, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    Ooooh…I’m so envious. We really can’t find good scallops around here, but I adore them. Two cheers for including greens in your recipe. I eat greens 2-3 times a day!

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      May 16, 2012 at 7:55 am

      I have been trying to include greens more often, at least once a day, but aiming for twice! Sneaking them into smoothies is probably going to be my secret weapon 😉

       
  3. msmckibbon

    May 21, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Oh boy, now I’ve got a serious hankering for scallops! This looks fantastic!!

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      May 21, 2012 at 2:55 pm

      Oh, they were soooo good! It was a treat to find the large scallops, not something we are able to eat very often.

       
  4. Debbie Latour

    March 6, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    I just started the Wheat Belly Diet a couple of days ago and I’m still learning so it’s not an exact science for me as yet…I do have at least a dozen bags of scallops in my freezer and I’m so glad that you’ve given me an exact recipe for them that will go along with my new found diet! I get my seafood(scallops and lobster) from my cousin’s brother-in-law who brings them up to Ontario from New-Brunswick which is where I was born and raised till I was 13 yrs old. so I do miss my fish and seafood from down home ie: smelts, mackerel, flat fish, salmon, clams etc. Thanks Gretchen!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      March 7, 2013 at 7:30 pm

      Congratulations on starting this new way of eating! I have to say, I am jealous of your fresh seafood connection, yum! Seafood and fish is actually really easy to fit into the WB lifestyle, just keep the preparations simple… hope you enjoy this one! It would work equally well with shrimp, I imagine 🙂 ~Gretchen

       

Leave a Reply

 
