RSS

Almond Buckwheat Buttermilk Pancakes (Gluten Free) with Berry Sauce

19 May

Almond Buckwheat Buttermilk Pancakes served with Berry Sauce

Since we have gone gluten free, I have been keeping my eyes open for a good buckwheat pancake recipe that my family would enjoy, as buckwheat pancakes were always our favorite! I also wanted the recipe to be lower carb so that we could eat it without guilt. I have seen lots of recipes that looked yummy, and decided to combine and tweak to come up with one that would satisfy our dietary choices. This one combines buckwheat flour with almond flour (lower carb, not no carb), and I have to say, the boys RAVED about it! It was so gratifying to hear my teenager telling me that these were the “best pancakes ever!” (I plan to make another batch soon for the freezer so that he can pop them in the toaster in the morning.) I can’t guarantee you will feel the same way, but I do hope you enjoy!

Almond Buckwheat Buttermilk Pancakes

  • 1/2 C almond flour
  • 1/2 C buckwheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp Truvia
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 C plus 2 Tb  buttermilk
  • butter or oil to grease griddle

Heat griddle to 325 degrees. Combine all dry ingredients in a food processor and pulse until mixed completely. Add wet ingredients and blend. When griddle is hot, grease with butter and spoon batter into smallish pancakes. (I was able to make 8.) Cook several minutes until the first side appears to be done and is starting to brown at the edges. (My pancakes did not get the traditional bubbles before flipping.) Flip and cook another minute or so. Serve with butter and berry sauce.

Berry Sauce

  • 1/3 C reduced sugar raspberry preserves
  • 1/4 C fresh or frozen blueberries

Heat ingredients together until the blueberries begin to soften. Serve over pancakes.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Almond Buckwheat Buttermilk Pancakes (Gluten Free) with Berry Sauce

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    May 20, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    These sound heavenly. And yet, I’m nor really into pancakes or desserts. That berry sauce does it for me, though. Must Google truvia as I’ve never heard of that.

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      May 20, 2012 at 7:18 pm

      I’m glad it sounds tempting to you! I am not into pancakes either, EXCEPT buckwheat. They are different, less “cakey”. They are exceptional with real maple syrup, but the berry sauce is lower carb and full of flavor. Truvia is a stevia based sweetener, you could just use a little sugar or honey too.

       
  2. Baker Bettie

    May 20, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    These sound sooo good! Since changing my diet I have had a difficult time finding pancakes that both I will eat and my husband approves of. I’ll have to give these a try, especially since they are “teenager approved.” 🙂 I did just make some coconut flour pancakes a few weeks ago and my husband did like them, though he still prefers traditional pancakes.

    http://bakerbettie.com/2012/05/05/strawberry-shortcake-pancakes/

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      May 21, 2012 at 7:52 am

      Your recipe for coconut pancakes and the photos look fantastic! I will have to give them a try. The reason I used almond flour with the buckwheat was exactly what you mentioned about the coconut flour being SO absorbent. The buckwheat is definitely different than a traditional buttermilk pancake in both taste and texture.

       
  3. Debbie Latour

    March 6, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    Now see, there you go, I was just reading the ings. for the pancakes and buckwheat flour is one of them…is that not a grain? I see wheat written there…am I seeing things lol
    So I’m assuming that buckwheat flour is OK for the grain free diet right?

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      March 7, 2013 at 7:50 pm

      Debbie~ I use buckwheat flour occasionally, mainly for foods for my son, as he is grain-free, but not needing to lose weight at all. Buckwheat is not “wheat” and doesn’t have the gluten that causes reactions.
      In fact, yearsss ago, before I had any idea that I had an intolerance to wheat, I found that I could eat buckwheat pancakes without feeling sick… as previously I always hated pancakes because every time I ate them, I would feel bloated, nauseous and basically horrible. I’ve never been a baked-goods-for-breakfast kinda gal, but the buckwheat is something I could tolerate, and looking back it should have been an early clue, but I had no idea what gluten even was!
      So that being said, yes you can have buckwheat, but be aware of the carb content, especially if weight loss is your goal. WB guidelines are to keep each meal at 15g net carbs or lower to avoid blood sugar spikes. Hope this helps! ~Gretchen

       
      • Debbie Latour

        March 7, 2013 at 8:49 pm

        Thank you so much for that info Gretchen! I’m still learning all the time and this helps tremendously since yes, I would like to shed quite a few lbs actually. It’s kinda starting to all make sense to me as I go along 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
