RSS

Warm Veggie Salad with Grilled Chicken

21 May

If you are like me, you eat plenty of salads, right? I know we love our greens and the health benefits that come with them, but I also get in salad “ruts” sometimes where I know I should eat them, but I also know just how they will taste, and get a little bored with the concept.

This morning I didn’t feel like eggs or a smoothie for breakfast, and decided to have a salad instead, so I started looking through the fridge to see what I had on hand. I knew there was leftover orange ginger grilled chicken breast that I wanted to use, and of course greens. I also had fresh crimini mushrooms, which i love, but the problem is that I only like cooked mushrooms, not raw ones. Cooking the mushrooms led to this delicious and light warm salad… for a vegetarian version, simply omit the chicken and cheese and use coconut oil to saute veggies. Having a late breakfast in the backyard listening to the birds singing up a storm was a refreshing start to my day, but I don’t think I will be hungry at lunch time!

Warm Veggie Salad with Grilled Chicken

  • 1/2 grilled chicken breast, cut up
  • 1 large leaf of napa cabbage
  • handful of fresh spinach leaves
  • 1 carrot, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 stalk celery, thinly sliced
  • handful of crimini musrooms, diced
  • butter or coconut oil to saute veggies
  • sprinkling of shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 lime, juiced

Saute carrot, celery and mushrooms in butter for a few minutes, cooking lightly and maintaining crispness. Add grilled chicken and warm through, remove from heat. Lay the napa down as a base for the salad, either whole for a wrap, or chopped. Add spinach over napa. Top with veggies and then cheese. Squeeze lime over the top and serve immediately.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Warm Veggie Salad with Grilled Chicken

  1. Kristen

    May 21, 2012 at 11:59 am

    Thanks for the comments/support on my post today. 🙂

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      May 21, 2012 at 12:04 pm

      You’re very welcome… I always enjoy finding new bloggers who share an interest in healthy eating and speak up for what they think and believe!

       
  2. A Table in the Sun

    May 21, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Nice idea for breakfast (or lunch or dinner). I’m with you on mushrooms. Only cooked.

     

Leave a Reply

 
