RSS

Super Moist Orange Cake (GF) Recipe Review

11 Jun
Super Moist Orange Cake (GF) Recipe Review

Life has been so busy now that S.U.M.M.E.R is officially here… along with yard and garden work, my son being off school, and the fun things to do as well! I haven’t taken the time to post as much as usual, and I do need to get to work on fixing that!

This orange cake is wonderfully moist, a definite must-try!

I am always on the look out for good almond flour recipes, as that has certainly become my favorite flour to work with on a gluten free diet. This recipe is basically a review of one posted by Elana on her gluten free baking blog. (Hers was a twist on a recipe that Nigella featured, and who knows where it came from before that!) Apparently Starbuck’s had a version of this cake in their shops as well, though not sure if it is still available. Once you try this, you will know why this recipe has made the rounds!!! It is delicious, orangey, and seriously moist! Like really, really, wonderfully moist. I may add a glaze when baking it for company or an event (dark chocolate? orange vanilla? cashew cream?) BUT, it absolutely doesn’t need a topping at all.

I normally tweak and adjust recipes depending on what mood strikes me and which ingredients I have on hand, however, I actually followed this one exactly! I know, I was shocked too, hehe. BUT, it was perfect as is! I am so glad that I didn’t alter it to begin with, because now I have a few ideas brewing as to how I can use this recipe as a base for other concoctions.

Boiling oranges for this recipe was a new idea to me, and the results were amazing!

I can’t say that I have ever boiled oranges before, so that was definitely something new to add to the cooking repertoire. My oranges were smallish, so I used 2 1/2 instead of the 2 that the recipe called for. Agave is new to me as well, and was terrific in this recipe. I imagine that honey would be a fine substitute, but the glycemic index of agave is much lower, so I chose to stick with Elana’s version. Also, I used a spring form pan, and greased it with coconut oil, then dusted it with rice flour in order to keep the cake from sticking. I did refrigerate the leftovers, and the cake is fabulous a day or two old, and delicious cold as well. I hope you try it and enjoy as much as we did!

And if you missed the link above, the recipe is HERE.

I baked the cake for 40 minutes instead of 45-50, and as you can see the outside is slightly dark, but not burned. It didn’t seem to affect the taste.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Super Moist Orange Cake (GF) Recipe Review

  1. A Table in the Sun

    June 11, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    I’ve been in the mood for citrus for the past two weeks. Lemon mousse, oranges in my green smoothies, lemon zest in dressings, lime juice in marinades…..and now, THIS! Glad to see you back.

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      June 11, 2012 at 4:43 pm

      I love citrus as well, and lemon mousse sounds amazing! Hope you get a chance to make this, it is so yummy, and healthy too!

       
  2. livingforjackie

    June 11, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    I love anything with citrus! This looks so good…… 🙂

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      June 11, 2012 at 4:45 pm

      Thank you, it is a recipe that I am SO glad I tried. At the holidays, I think the addition of a few spices would be spot on!

       

Leave a Reply

 
