RSS

Pizza: Cheese-Crusted, Gluten-free, Grain-free!

25 Jul

Now, if you are not a low-carber, you may want to avert your eyes…

No really, do it now. I’ll wait.

If you are still reading, I am going to assume that a pizza crust made with 3 kinds of cheese, eggs, and no flour is RIGHT up your alley! I will admit that while I am 99% grain free (other than an occasional delectable sushi roll, oops) even I was feeling a little guilty with this cheesy indulgence, but it sure was good!

Many of you have either found me through my posts on the Wheat Belly blog or Facebook page, and even if you found me through the wonderful world of food and health blogging, you likely know how enthusiastic I am about the wheat free lifestyle! One of the cool things about being part of a thriving Wheat Belly (WB) community online is that everyone is more than happy to share their experiences, advice and recipe tips! In a recent post, after I suggested the Socca Pizza crust with Garbanzo flour, a fellow WB’er shared her favorite gluten-free pizza crust recipe (which is veryyyy low carb), and I gave it a whirl… YUMMO!

So, since one good turn deserves another, I am sharing the link to the original page HERE, at Gluten Free Easily, with pictures of a very classic-looking pepperoni pizza. I will definitely have to make this version when I have pepperoni on hand, but since I didn’t, I improvised with what I did have.

Here you see the crust ingredients spread into a parchment-lined pan.

Cooked up and ready to be decked out!

Sauteed crimini mushrooms

Wilted spinach and garlic.

Our Pizza toppings included: spinach sauteed with minced garlic, sauteed crimini mushrooms, left-over pork chop, thinly diced and crisped in a pan, and some crumbled feta cheese, along with the Organicville spaghetti sauce and some shredded mozzarella cheese mixed with chopped fresh basil.

Our first cheese crust pizza! Mushrooms on one half only 😉

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Pizza: Cheese-Crusted, Gluten-free, Grain-free!

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    July 25, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    This looks and sounds heavenly! I’ve never heard of this before. I’ve checked the link and was wondering if you know what pizza is as I’ve never heard of that. Shant try this yet as it’s too hot to use my over. Yet, on cooler days this sure would be the perfect treat. Especially as I can easily find most of the ingredients.

     
  2. Gretchen without Gluten

    July 25, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Hello my friend! I think you meant to ask what pizza seasoning is, perhaps. Here in the U.S. we have quite a few ready-made spice mixes available, and that is what the recipe refers to. I don’t keep that on hand, so I added some dried oregano, basil, garlic powder, and a little pepper. It’s more or less just to add some seasoning to the crust so that it has some flavor apart from the cheese ( I didn’t add salt in the mix because cheese has enough sodium built in already.) I hope that you enjoy this when the weather cools down a bit, as my son and I certainly did! (Though I know that next time he will be rooting for a plain pepperoni pizza, hehe.)

     
  3. cooktocure

    July 26, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    I will have to try this in a non-dairy version. I bet rice cheese, daiya and almond cheese will do nicely. Am vacationing in Albion this week, so maybe next week! Thank you again for a yummy GF recipe. Cheers! ~ Hoda

     
    • Gretchen without Gluten

      July 26, 2012 at 11:10 pm

      Enjoy your vacation! Always good to hear from you 🙂 I know that many also make a version of pizza crust using cauliflower in with the cheese and egg. I will have to try almond cheese some day just to see what it’s like!

       
      • cooktocure

        July 27, 2012 at 12:49 am

        Cauliflower.. golly! You would love some of the restaurants out here in Mendocino and Fort Bragg… to my utter amazement there are 10x more Vegan, Organic and Gluten Free options than we have in the East Bay! I can pick the restaurant I want to eat at, instead of being stuck with the 2 -3 choices within a 20 mile radius of home!

         

Leave a Reply

 
