RSS

Sundried Tomato Basil Crackers with Almond Flour

31 Jul

Sundried Tomato Basil Almond Flour Crackers.

We haven’t had almond flour crackers in a while, so today I was thinking that I wanted to experiment with a different flavor combination. What came to mind was sundried tomato and basil, which is a classic pairing that we used to enjoy when we made home made bread (I know, I know… banish the thought!) The result was delicious! I also included homemade gomasio (sesame salt), since I just made a batch earlier today. This is a slightly chewier cracker than the ones I have done before that include shredded cheese, but very tasty and satisfying. They are super simple to make, I hope you enjoy!

Combine all ingredients in food processor.

 

Place dough between sheets of parchment, and roll out to 1/8″ thick

Cut into shapes, sprinkle with gomasio and bake per recipe instructions.

Remove from oven and cool on wire rack. Don’t they look yummy?!

Sundried Tomato Basil Almond Flour Crackers

  • 1 C almond flour
  • 1 Tb olive oil (or coconut oil)
  • 2 Tb water
  • 1/4 C sundried tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 2 tsp gomasio (or 1/4-1/2 tsp salt to taste)
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  1. Heat oven to 325.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a food processor and combine until the mixture comes together.
  3. Form dough into a ball and flatten between 2 sheets of baking parchment.
  4. Using a rolling pin, roll dough evenly until about 1/8″ thick.
  5. Leaving the dough on the parchment, smooth out the jagged edges, and cut the crackers into squares or rectangles, whichever you prefer. (If desired, sprinkle with more gomasio before baking.)
  6. Gently separate crackers, keeping them on the bottom parchment, and bake for about 6 minutes.
  7. Remove from oven, carefully turn each cracker over, and put back in oven for an additional 4-6 minutes. Watch crackers carefully, as almond flour can burn easily.
  8. Remove to wire rack to cool.

Serve with cheese or toppings of your choice. We used extra sharp white cheddar today.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Sundried Tomato Basil Crackers with Almond Flour

  1. A Table in the Sun

    July 31, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    Thanks for the tip on gomasio. I’ve never heard of that before. I also like how you rolled the crackers between parchment to keep the dough together. Sun-dried tomatoes and basil…always yummy.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      August 7, 2012 at 7:35 pm

      The parchment really helped in getting the dough as thin as I wanted it to be… sometimes it’s a sticky mess! So far the gomasio has been a big hit at our house too.

       
  2. Julie Dietzel

    August 7, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    Gretchen, I really need to drop by your house more often! LoL I want to try this for quick snacks when I go back to school.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      August 8, 2012 at 8:38 am

      Having a plan for when school starts back up is a great idea! I have seen how much junk food seems to find its way into classrooms and teacher’s lounges, ha.

       
  3. Maria Sewing

    January 24, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    Hi, can you tell me if I could use almond meal instead of the flour? I usually use the flour in more delicate baked items but these crackers appear more rustic and I would think the almond meal might be ok?

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      January 25, 2013 at 12:47 pm

      Hi Maria, For the most part, meal and flour are interchangeable, and different brands label them differently. Unless your meal is very coarse, I would say you can absolutely use it in this recipe! Give it a try, and if you are in doubt, perhaps make 1/2 batch to see what you think. The almond flour I use is from a bulk food store near me, and I’m not sure what brand it actually is, but I would not say that it is superfine, so yours should be good. ~G

       
  4. Maria Sewing

    January 25, 2013 at 7:10 pm

    Thanks Gretchen, I’m going to give these a try tomorrow. I just found your blog and I just love it! I just recently lost 35 pounds through Medifast and I knew from the beginning that after reaching goal I needed to change my way of eating so as not to gain back all the weight I’ve lost, I sure don’t want to eat prepackaged food forever! YUCK! I found Dr. Davis’s Wheat Bellies book and I am a convert now! I always knew carbs and grains were tough on my system and could never understand how I could always be hungry just a few hours after eating grains, now I know! The information and wonderful recipes you provide have helped me so much, it’s a real blessing and I am most grateful. I am learning so much. Thanks again. Maria

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      January 30, 2013 at 2:15 pm

      You are welcome 🙂 Congratulations on your weight loss, and also for having the foresight to adapt to a sustainable way of eating healthy for the long term. Knowing that what I’m posting here is a help to people, is the whole reason I do it!! ~Gretchen

       

Leave a Reply

 
