RSS

Kale Crisps… A Great Snack That’s Low-Carb, Grain-free, Sugar-free and Dairy-free!

25 Aug

If you are following the Wheat Belly plan, eating Paleo, Primal, going low-carb, or just trying to boost your daily dose of nutrient-rich veggies, this recipe is for you!

Baked Kale Crisps

Kale is an incredibly nutritious green that has enjoyed a surge of popularity in the world of healthy eating. Some people love it raw in salads, while others are digging it in juice or smoothies. I will admit that I am SOOO not one of those people!

I have *wanted* to enjoy kale, because I just love knowing that the food I am eating is fueling my body and giving me nutrients that support increased health. However, I was never able to fall in love with the slightly bitter flavor or tough texture. Now that I have FINALLY tried making kale chips, all that has changed! They are crispy, flavorful and nearly as addictive as eating potato chips without the carbs and hydrogenated oils… YAY! Even better, my teenage son loved them, and they are easy to make. I think I have finally found a substitute for popcorn while watching movies!

 

If you need a little more convincing to take a stab at making these, here are some facts that might persuade you:

RICH IN VITAMIN K~ Kale belongs to the Brassica family, which also includes broccoli, Brussels sprouts and cabbage, and all are rich in vitamins and anti-oxidants. However, kale has even more of the cancer-fighting vitamin K, weighing in at more than 1000% of recommended daily allowance of K per cup! In addition to reducing cancer risk, K also is known for supporting bone health and regulating the clotting abilities in blood.

LOADED WITH VITAMIN A~ Another vitamin that maintains bone health is vitamin A. It also aids in vision, red blood cell production and tissue repair. One cup will provide 180% of daily requirements of A.

GREAT SOURCE OF VITAMIN C~ With about twice as much vitamin C as an average orange, a cup of kale is giving you 200% RDA of this important nutrient. If you’re on a low-carb diet, kale can get you the C you need without spiking your blood sugar!

PACKED WITH ANTI-OXIDANTS~ Carotenoids and Flavonoids are powerful anti-oxidants that protect the body against various cancers. These are also great for promoting the health of your eyes!

HIGH IN IRON, CALCIUM & B6~ Containing more iron per calorie than steak, and more calcium per calorie than milk, kale is a nutritional powerhouse that just keeps on giving! With the added bonus of plenty of B6 for supporting immune system health and nervous system function, it’s a veggie not to be overlooked.

Trimming kale for oven-baked crisps.

Trimming kale for oven-baked crisps. I used sharp kitchen shears to make the job easy. At the left are the discarded center ribs that are too tough to enjoy.

There are numerous recipes all over the internet, with various oven temps and bake times, and using different oils and seasonings, and the following is my own adaptation. I felt that by keeping the temp on the low side, I would avoid scorching them, and would retain a few more nutrients than if they were cooked more quickly at a higher heat.

Baked Kale Crisps

  • Kale, with tough center stems removed and cut into pieces. Dried thoroughly.
  • Oil for coating. (I used coconut oil for added health benefits.)
  • Seasonings of your choice. (I used kosher salt, fresh ground pepper and garlic powder.)

Directions: Heat oven to 275 degrees. Spread kale pieces on a baking sheet and toss in a tablespoon or so of oil to coat. Season as you wish and bake for 8-10 minutes. Remove from oven and stir/flip kale, return to oven for another 8-10 minutes. My kale crisps were slightly darker when they were done than when they went in, very light and very crispy!

Collander full of washed and dried kale that has been trimmed of the tough center rib.

Colander full of washed and dried kale that has been trimmed of the tough center rib.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Kale Crisps… A Great Snack That’s Low-Carb, Grain-free, Sugar-free and Dairy-free!

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    August 26, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    I love the stuff. Any green and I’m happy. I usually par-boil them, then toss in oil and a little butter and pan-fry over low heat. Really nice with rustic mash and oven-baked sausages.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      August 26, 2012 at 9:20 pm

      I love greens too, mmmmm! Now, I’ve found a way to love kale too; I am so pleased 🙂 I will remember to par boil kale first if I want to try sauteing it again though. I am guessing that helps to tone down the bitterness.

       
  2. Michelle Phillips

    September 11, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    Tried these today. YUM!!! Only thing was I didn’t realize they would shrink that much LOL

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 18, 2012 at 12:40 pm

      Glad you liked them! They really do get a lot smaller, which is why we could devour an entire bunch of kale! Hehe.

       

Leave a Reply

 
