RSS

Cashew Sandies {Grain-free, Sugar-free, Egg and Dairy-free}

06 Nov
Grain-free Cashew Sandies

Grain-free Cashew Sandies

 

These Cashew Sandies are my take on a traditional Pecan Sandie that I often baked at the holidays. The cashews do a wonderful job of standing in for the sweetness of pecans in this recipe, and it’s a good thing I made them small, as they are quite rich! It’s a lightly sweet cookie, much like a shortbread.

There are times when recipes take lots of tweaking and fussing, and other times where they are the result of happy experimentation… this is the latter  😉  I was using lovely raw cashews to make cashew butter for a brownie recipe (that I will be posting soon), and after processing about a cup of raw cashews to the point of being finely ground, I added 1Tb of Nutiva coconut oil and continued to process until the mixture came together as a “nut butter”. One thing that I noticed right away, was that the texture of the cashew butter was smooth and very similar to the finished dough for pecan sandies… so I added a few more ingredients to add bulk, lift and flavor, and the following recipe is the result. I’ll be adding them to my holiday baking this year, and I hope you do too!

Note: I would normally sift powdered sugar over the top of a pecan sandie, but I didn’t have any powdered Swerve or erythritol on hand, so I just sprinkled a little granulated Swerve on top. Next time I make them, they will definitely look more festive!

Cashew Sandies

  • 1C raw cashews finely ground into nut butter
    with 1Tb coconut oil added for smoothness
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3Tb Swerve sweetener (or your choice to taste) plus more for sprinkling
  • 4Tb almond flour
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 1Tb Nutiva virgin coconut oil (can use refined or butter in its place)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper. Using a food processor, combine all ingredients until a soft dough forms. (I made the cashew butter in the food processor and then added the remaining ingredients.) Form into 1” balls, and flatten slightly on baking parchment. Bake for 12-15 minutes, until the cookies are just starting to brown delicately at the edges (I turn pan once during baking.) Remove to a rack to cool. Sprinkle sweetener over the top or sift with powdered sweetener. Do not try to lift cookies from parchment until they have cooled and become more sturdy. Makes about 24 cookies.

Cashew butter made from raw cashews and coconut oil

Cashew butter made from raw cashews and coconut oil.

Slightly flattened 1" balls on baking parchment

Slightly flattened 1″ balls on baking parchment

Cooled and delicious Cashew Sandies

Cooled and delicious Cashew Sandies

Cashew Sandies: Perfect after-school treat for my hungry teen!

Cashew Sandies: Perfect after-school treat for my hungry teen!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Cashew Sandies {Grain-free, Sugar-free, Egg and Dairy-free}

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    November 6, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    This is my sort of cookie, especially as I love shortbread. And, I adore cashews. Will definitely try these if I ever buy myself a grinder!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      November 6, 2012 at 8:37 pm

      I love pecan sandies, the texture and the soft crumb without the sweetness is lovely. These are pretty similar, though the cashews lend a slight creaminess to the cookie as well.

       
  2. A Table in the Sun

    November 7, 2012 at 12:25 am

    Cashews are a wonderful replacement for pecans. I use also use them to replace pine nuts in pesto, toss them in smoothies…..Your cookies look great.

     
  3. Rebecca

    November 7, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    Yum! I am going to try these soon. Thanks for all of the wonderful recipes! 🙂

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      November 8, 2012 at 8:24 am

      Hi Rebecca!
      You are very welcome, and I hope they are as easy for others as they were for me. Please let me know how it goes!
      ~Gretchen

       
  4. Rivka

    February 28, 2013 at 3:30 am

    hi! i had a jar of cashew butter in the fridge and stumbled across your recipe while searching for a way to use it up. I made the cookies and the batter seems much more creamy than yours, like processed peanut butter consistency. i did use store bought cashew butter, but the ingredients are imply cashews. anyway they just came out of the oven and they smell amazing. Thanks!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      February 28, 2013 at 8:05 am

      Hi Rivka~ I’m sure that nut butters vary in consistency due to different batches of nuts and how they have been processed. The nut butter I made was definitely more “doughy” than like a peanut butter. I’m glad you tried the recipe and that they smell yummy… Hope they taste great too! ~Gretchen

       
  5. Panthea Saidipour

    March 8, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    I just made these and I’m pleasantly surprised because I had to make several modifications from your recipe due to missing ingredients. They are delicious!

    I’ve been on induction and limiting sweets the past few months so my low-carb baking supplies are sparse at the moment. Case in point, I didn’t even have enough almond flour for these! That’s unheard of for me as I have a dedicated almond flour storage container! Haha.

    Here’s what I had to change… I used 2 tbsp melted unsalted Kerrygold butter in place of the coconut oil. I used liquid sucralose drops equivalent to about 1/4 cup sugar. I only had about 1 1/2 tbsp almond flour (I’m still in shock over how this could be) so I used about 2 tsp of Bob’s Red Mill coconut flour to try to absorb some of the moisture. This made 12 poker-chip sized cookies for me as my sweetener didn’t add bulk.

    End result: amazing. I will definitely make the same modifications again…even when I have enough almond flour back in stock. 🙂

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      March 11, 2013 at 11:04 am

      Hi Panthea~ I’m glad that these were a success for you! I may have to try making them with your variations and see how they turn out. This recipe was certainly a happy accident in my kitchen, and it has shown itself to be quite versatile. I haven’t used coconut flour in it yet, but since it absorbs so much more moisture than almond flour, I can see how it would take care of the missing almond flour in your version. So happy that you enjoyed and didn’t let the ingredients stop you! ~Gretchen

       

Leave a Reply

 
