RSS

Guilt-free Chocolate! Brownie Nut Energy Bars {Grain-free, Low-carb}

06 Nov
Grain-free Brownie Nut Bars

Grain-free Brownie Nut Bars layered between parchment

These bars are a happy combination of deep chocolate flavor, a touch of saltiness and a blend of nuts and seeds. Perfect for a small, filling snack or to sate your craving for chocolate on a low-carb diet! They are mildly sweet, so if you prefer a stronger dose of sweetness, you can adjust the recipe accordingly. The nuts, eggs and flax help by providing natural dietary fat and protein, while the chocolate, coconut and seeds make it a satisfying treat. If you are missing one of the seeds or nuts, feel free to substitute or omit as desired.

Grain-free Brownie Nut Bars

Grain-free Brownie Nut Bars

 

Brownie Nut Bars {Grain-free, Low-carb}

  • 1C raw cashews blended with 1Tb coconut oil to make smooth cashew butter
  • 4 whole eggs
  • 4Tb Truvia (or preferred sweetener)
  • 1/4tsp kosher salt
  • 4Tb Coconut oil (I used Nutiva virgin)
  • 1Tb vanilla

    Chopped chocolate chips

    Chopped chocolate chips

  • 2C almond flour
  • 1/2C golden flax meal
  • 1C flaked coconut, processed slightly
  • 1/2C walnuts, chopped
  • 2Tb chia seeds
  • 2Tb sesame seeds (I used white and black seeds)
  • 2Tb cocao nibs
  • 4Tb dark cocoa powder
  • 2/3C chocolate chips, coarsely ground
  • 1/3C Swerve (or preferred sweetener)

Directions: Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line baking dish (9″ by 13″) with parchment and butter lightly. Combine first 6 ingredients in a food processor until smooth. In a large bowl, combine remaining ingredients and mix completely. Add the egg mixture into the dry ingredients, mixing thoroughly until a sticky dough/batter is formed. Press into lined baking dish and distribute evenly. Sprinkle additional chocolate chips over top and lightly sprinkle with kosher salt. Bake for a total of 20 minutes, turning once halfway through baking. Makes 32 brownie nut bars. Store in sealed container in refrigerator or wrap tightly and freeze.

Egg mixture and almond flour mixture

Egg mixture and almond flour mixture. The dry ingredients look a lot like DIRT! ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

 

Combining wet and dry ingredients

Combining wet and dry ingredients

 

Pressing batter into parchment-lined pan

Pressing batter into parchment-lined pan. You can see the great texture from the seeds, nuts and coconut.

 

Brownie Nut Bars pulled from the pan whole, to cool.

Brownie Nut Bars pulled from the pan whole, to cool. Cashew Sandies in the upper left!ย 

Brownie Nut Bars, cut and ready to be stored.

Brownie Nut Bars, cut and ready to be stored.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Guilt-free Chocolate! Brownie Nut Energy Bars {Grain-free, Low-carb}

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    November 6, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    Heavenly!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      November 6, 2012 at 8:40 pm

      Thank you! They are so filling, that you really can’t over-indulge ๐Ÿ˜‰

       
  2. cooktocure

    December 9, 2012 at 12:47 am

    I can’t eat cashews.. do you think that hazelnuts or walnuts will work? Anxious to try this. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      December 13, 2012 at 9:58 am

      I think that you could probably use any nut butter for this, I used what I had on hand. I need to make these again, my son just asked about them this morning, easy to pack to take on the go!

       
  3. Laurie

    January 7, 2013 at 8:04 pm

    OMG another great recipe, of course I had to alter it second time around. I reduced the choc chips by 1/4 cup (could have reduced by more) and added about 1/4 cup vanilla whey powder (am doing wheatbelly and this is OK), 1/4+ cup cranberries pulsed/chopped, and 2 T blood orange infused olive oil. To DIE for. A tiny bit less dense due to the fruit. PS, if you have not tried the flavored olive oils that are out now, you are truly missing a great healthy salad dressing and baking flavor additive!). Wonder what adding a little baking powder would do? May try next time.

     
    • Laurie

      January 7, 2013 at 8:09 pm

      Forgot to mention, I used store bought almond butter with no additives vs the cashew butter.

       
    • Gretchen without Grain

      January 8, 2013 at 10:34 am

      Sounds great! I rarely make any recipe the same way twice, which was a real challenge when I first started to blog my recipes. I think that switching things up to match your preferences or what you have on hand is ideal, just need a place to start. I think baking powder would give it a little rise and should work fine and maybe give it more of a traditional brownie texture. Originally I was going for something kind of dense and chewy, which is why I omitted it. Glad to hear you’re experimenting! I’ll have to try the flavored olive oil… I haven’t yet, but I do use unsweetened oils and extracts in the kitchen, and I love them!

       
  4. Terri B

    January 8, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    Hi Gretchen – I have a question on coconut oil. I decided to purchase some and noticed that Louana (the peanut oil folks) make coconut oil and it was much less expensive than the brand that was right next to it. We’re talking $7 vs. $22. Can you lead me in the right direction? Thanks!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      January 8, 2013 at 6:54 pm

      I use more than one kind of coconut oil, and you will find that everyone has their favorites. I use Louana and Golden Barrel which are less expensive, refined oils, without the coconut smell and taste when I want to use it in place of olive oil or cook at higher temps. I use the more expensive Nutiva, organic unrefined for things like MIMs and in place of butter or when I use on my skin. I like them both! So far I have found the best price for Nutiva on Amazon. ๐Ÿ™‚

       

Leave a Reply

 
