RSS

All-In-One Buns! {Grain-free, Nut-free}

07 Jan

Burger Bun, Pizza Crust & Breakfast Muffin?

All-In-One Buns

All-In-One Buns

This is a savory bun-style base recipe that is grain-free and also nut-free, which is a benefit for those who have a difficult time tolerating the nut flours. It started out as a recipe for pizza crust, but has evolved into one of the most versatile recipes I’ve been using as of late. Top as mini pizzas… ham and cheese melt… use as small sandwich buns, open-faced or sliced in half… burger buns… top with bruscetta mixture…Β  breakfast muffins with either ham or bacon added in… what about a little onion and broccoli? feta cheese? chili peppers? sausage?

I’ve had an ongoing health evolution since I changed to a grain-free, lower-carb diet in March of 2012, and I am still tweaking and figuring out which foods make my body feel the best, and which are causing some discomfort. I find that I can have nut flours in small amounts, but that I feel best when exposure is limited, so I love that this is based on eggs and cheese instead. Low-carb, Wheat Belly friendly.

All-In-One buns!

All-In-One buns… Cooling on a wire rack, these will be baby pizzas pretty soon!

These are sturdy, delicious and filling. This recipe makes 24 at a time (to keep on hand for a hungry teen),Β  but it can easily be halved or even cut to 1/3 if you don’t need as many. I will apologize in advance for not having pictures of everything we’ve made with this recipe so far, but they disappeared too quickly! I’ll try to add some in the future πŸ˜‰

All-In-One Buns

Ingredients:

  • 12 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 6 eggs
  • 3C mozzarella cheese, grated (I process it in my ninja to get a small crumble texture)
  • 3/4 C Parmesan cheese, also grated
  • 1 tsp garlic powder (or preferred seasonings)
  • 1 TB oregano

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350′.
  • Blend cream cheese until smooth, either by hand or in the bowl of an electric mixer.
  • Blend in eggs, one at a time and mix until fairly smooth.
  • Mix in cheeses and seasonings, combine well.
  • If using add-ins such as ham, bacon, veggies etc, stir in last.
  • Spoon mixture into 2 muffin-top of bun pans (or bake one pan at a time, as I did!) making sure that the pans are oiled/sprayed well.
  • Bake for 20 minutes, rotating pan halfway through bake time.
  • Cool slightly and remove from pans.
  • Store in bags or containers in fridge for up to a week, if they last that long!

IMG-20121226-03305

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “All-In-One Buns! {Grain-free, Nut-free}

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    January 7, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    These sounds so delicious I would happily eat them by themselves! Do you think it’s possible to include grated semi-hard cheese like Cheddar? I’ll definitely have to buy that muffin tray, as I think that’s what they’re called here.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      January 8, 2013 at 10:28 am

      I can’t resist eating one while still warm, they are wonderful plain too! I haven’t substituted cheddar for all of the cheese, but I have used it in place of the Parmesan with great results. I think Swiss would be excellent too, especially with a little ham.

       
      • Barb

        January 8, 2013 at 2:00 pm

        These look great, Gretchen . I’ll definitely try them soon. I love making things in my muffin top pan, well worth the price. I’m glad to see something without nuts for a change. Thanks for sharing!

         
      • Gretchen without Grain

        January 8, 2013 at 6:34 pm

        I’m glad you think so, we really love these. I made more today and I’ll freeze a couple to see how they hold up so I can let you all know. I was a bit burnt out on nuts as well πŸ˜‰

         
      • MonaKarel

        May 26, 2013 at 11:47 am

        Swiss and ham…like those yummy croissants

         
      • Gretchen without Grain

        September 5, 2013 at 10:36 am

        Yes, so many easy variations!

         
  2. Jan J.

    January 8, 2013 at 10:06 am

    I am so excited about these but can’t afford the muffin top pan right now – is the batter stiff enough to just shape on a piece of non-stick foil?

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      January 8, 2013 at 10:37 am

      Hi Jan, You can make these without the pan, though the muffin top does give them a nice shape. The batter really isn’t stiff, but I have used a cake pan or baking sheet with a piece of buttered parchment, and just spread it out in a layer to bake. It’s like a large pizza crust that way, and can also be cut into pieces for buns!

       
      • Sandra

        February 4, 2013 at 3:49 pm

        Hi Gretchen – Did you still turn the “bun” halfway through when you baked it as a single sheet? That could be rather tricky…

        LOVE your blog, by the way.

         
      • Gretchen without Grain

        February 5, 2013 at 11:51 am

        Oooops! Maybe I need to change the word from “turn” to “rotate” LOL. I just make sure to rotate the pan for even cooking… I will update πŸ˜‰ Glad you are enjoying my blog!

         
  3. dlynn23

    January 25, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    OMG…these are soooo yummy! I made recipe as is, but only had small muffin pan & filled 1/4…I don’t care if they are small…they are SO GOOD! Thanks for posting this recipe!! πŸ™‚

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      January 30, 2013 at 2:12 pm

      So glad you enjoy them! I make these regularly now, often with pepperoni added for my son.

       
  4. Bronwen learning to leave the Weaten Path

    March 1, 2013 at 4:24 pm

    I noticed you said wrap them up and keep them up to a week, if they last… I was wondering have you frozen them? If so do they freeze well?

     
  5. Janelle

    March 7, 2013 at 4:24 pm

    so I think that I’m going to try cooking a batch of these in a pie pan… to make a pizza crust.
    I have only made these once before, but I loved them… and I used some of the extras that I had leftover as a little crust with a little sauce and cheese … so I’m thinking that this time I’ll try a larger one. Since I love pizza and I have yet to find a decent crust.
    I’ll let you know how it works out πŸ™‚

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      March 7, 2013 at 7:53 pm

      Janelle, Great! I hope you enjoy it as a pizza crust. We use it for the small pizzas you mentioned as well as the larger ones. I’ve found I like it best as a crust when it’s been sitting out for a few hours prior to adding all the fixings. It just seems sturdier that way. My mom made a large crust last weekend to take up for a girl’s weekend, and it was a hit with her friends!
      ~Gretchen

       
  6. Jan

    March 20, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    I have frozen these and they are perfect once thawed.
    I also added a combo of different cheeses, what ever I had on hand and they were delicious too! Thank you Gretchen!

     
  7. Kelly

    July 3, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    This looks so very good!. I can not wait to try this!.

     

Leave a Reply

 
