RSS

{Easy!} Banana Walnut Bread… Gluten-free, Grain-free and Dairy-free!

16 Jan
{Easy!} Banana Walnut Bread… Gluten-free, Grain-free and Dairy-free!
Grain-free Banana Walnut Bread, Warm from the oven!

Grain-free Banana Walnut Bread, Warm from the oven!

 

Banana bread is one of those traditional flour-based foods that offers a lot of homemade comfort; from the amazing smell of it baking to the wonderful banana nut flavor, it’s a favorite of many. Unfortunately, when it’s made with wheat flour, it has all the appetite stimulating and inflammatory effects of grains that we work to avoid. Lucky for us grain-free peeps, using a combination of almond flour and coconut flour, this was a pretty easy recipe to tweak πŸ˜‰ (If you are avoiding dairy, make this with the coconut oil, and obviously don’t spread with butter.) My son couldn’t get enough of this, and I’ve made it twice this past week! Everyone who’s tried it here thus far has given it a thumbs up, so it’s definitely a new staple in our house.

Bananas are one of those borderline forbidden fruits that are relatively high in carbs, and yet have a texture, flavor, aroma and nutrient profile that makes it appealing in small quantities. If you are watching your carb count, this banana bread can still fit into most diets… 16 slices in a loaf ends up being about 5g net carbs per slice. Not too shabby, as it’s pretty filling! We follow Wheat Belly, and though fruit is eaten in moderation, we find that this works for our personal limits. Note: in the pictures you may notice that I added a few chopped dried cranberries (1/4C). This raises the carb content by about 1-2g per piece, but since it was mainly my son eating this loaf, I wasn’t concerned about it.

I usually use dry sweeteners such as Swerve or Truvia, but in this case, I used Torani sugar-free caramel flavored syrup. I found it in the aisle with the coffee πŸ™‚ Caramel was a great flavor addition, but I’m sure that maple or hazelnut would be wonderful as well… I just used what I already had on hand. I will be honest, in that I don’t really care for the flavor of this syrup on its own or as a topping due to the sweetener, but mixed into the batter, it was wonderful! If you don’t have the syrup, you could use a dry sweetener and increase the water in the recipe.

Mashing bananas with my vintage dough blade. Love this tool!

Mashing bananas with my vintage dough blade. Love this tool!

Grain-free Banana Walnut Bread

  • 1 C almond flour
  • 1/3 C coconut flour
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3 TB coconut oil, melted (or butter)
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/3 C sugar-free syrup (I used Torani caramel flavored)
  • 1 TB vanilla
  • 2 TB water
  • 1/2 C chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a bread pan with butter or coconut oil. (I used a silicone bread pan, and rubbed it with butter.) Combine almond flour, coconut flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large mixing bowl. Whisk to combine completely. In a separate bowl, combine mashed bananas, eggs, coconut oil, syrup, vanilla, and water. Add to dry ingredients and mix until combined, mix in walnuts.

Batter, mixed and ready to go in the pan

Batter, mixed and ready to go in the pan

 

Pour into prepared pan and smooth out on top. Bake at 350 for a total of 40-45 minutes (or until a skewer inserted in the middle of the loaf comes out cleanly), rotating once halfway through baketime. Remove to wire rack to cool, removing from pan after cooling slightly. Serve with butter, whipped cream or cream cheese. (Total carbs about 80 for the loaf, 5g net carbs each for 16 slices.)

 

Grain-free Banana Walnut Bread, fresh from the oven, Mmmmm!

Grain-free Banana Walnut Bread, fresh from the oven, Mmmmm!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “{Easy!} Banana Walnut Bread… Gluten-free, Grain-free and Dairy-free!

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    January 16, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    You’ve really got me with this one! If only I could get those flours. Or can I? There is a health food store on the High Street which I could pop into. Problem is, it’s hideously expensive.

     
  2. Gretchen without Grain

    January 16, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    I wish I knew where to send you! I buy my flours locally at a bulk food store, but they are also available online. Not sure which online sources would deliver to you, but I know Amazon has some good choices here in the U.S. The nut flours are more expensive for sure, but since we don’t buy the processed foods anymore, those ingredients now take up that place in my food budget. Wish I could just invite you over for a slice πŸ˜€

     
  3. Joanne

    January 19, 2013 at 1:35 pm

    Could you use something else instead of the banana? like baked winter squash? My heart races like I have a squirrel trapped inside whenever I eat too many sweet carbs.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      January 24, 2013 at 10:06 am

      Hi Joanne… I haven’t made this with squash, but I’d say give it a try! I make MIMs all the time with canned pumpkin or baked squash, so I don’t see any reason it wouldn’t work. You may have to adjust the sweetener to your taste, and perhaps add some seasonings like cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice? If I give it a try, I will let you know, and if you try it, please post back and let us know how it goes! ~G

       
  4. Pat

    January 20, 2013 at 5:51 pm

    Definitely trying this soon and going to add some chopped dark chocolate! Thanks for sharing your creations! Pat

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      January 24, 2013 at 10:09 am

      I have made this with dark chocolate added in, and it’s sooo good! And you are most welcome; I’m always glad when people find these recipes and rants useful πŸ™‚

       
  5. Stephen Laudenslager

    February 10, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    What size loaf pan do you use for the batter?

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      February 11, 2013 at 3:37 pm

      The pan I used was made of silicone, and measured 9″long, 4″wide and about 3″deep. I think it’s a pretty standard size. These also make great muffins if you reduce the bake time a bit.

       
      • Debi McGinn

        March 16, 2013 at 4:18 pm

        I’ve never used a silicon baking pan. Are there benefits over other pans?

         
      • Gretchen without Grain

        March 17, 2013 at 5:39 pm

        Hi Debi~ The silicone baking pans are very non-stick, so the bread (or whatever) releases very easily. I don’t use them regularly, as I only have the one pan right now. I do know some people who swear by them for most of their baking though. I do however, have a silicone baking mat which I received as a gift at Christmas, and have been using that quite a bit on my cookie sheets in place of baking parchment (which I also love.) The baking mat still allows food to brown up nicely and there is zero sticking, plus it’s reusable. ~Gretchen

         
  6. Jacqui

    March 9, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    I’ve made a couple of grain free banana breads in the last week, but was a bit disappointed however your recipe with eggs and the coconut flour will make All the difference. I’m assuming coconut flour is just ground finely as in ground almonds? Also like the option of squash, I think we call them zucchini in Australia, and I remember some awesome cakes made by an old aunt when I was a child that were made with these, soo moist and tasty, especially with the spices, you’d never know it was made with such a boring vegetable and it would cut down on carbs too. Yay can’t wait to try

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      March 11, 2013 at 11:10 am

      Hi Jacqui~ I do hope that you are happy with this recipe when you try it! It’s been fabulous for us. I also grew up having zucchini breads and cakes, and need to work on a grain-free version to post here one of these days! If you look through my recipes, you will see the Pumpkin Maple Spice Muffins, and the recent post for chocolate cake… those recipes use canned pumpkin which has very much the same effect of adding moisture and texture while staying neutral in taste unless traditional spices are used along with it. Great way to increase veggies in yummy baked goods! ~Gretchen

       
  7. Kristin

    March 14, 2013 at 3:15 pm

    I made this bread but did not add any sugar or sugar free substances as I am staying away from both. It tasted lovely and I am very pleased with it, thank you for the recipe. One question have you tried using nutmeg and cinnamon with this recipe? I saw above you suggested it with pumpkin or squash but I wonder if it goes well with the banana?

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      March 17, 2013 at 5:35 pm

      Kristin~ I’m glad to hear that you like it without any sweeteners! The banana adds a nice natural sweetness to it. I haven’t tried the nutmeg and cinnamon with the bananas, but I don’t see why that wouldn’t work nicely. If you make it that way, please let us know how it goes! ~Gretchen

       
  8. Kristin

    March 16, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    Hi Gretchen
    I made this bread and it was absolutely yummie πŸ™‚ I made it without any sweetener simply because I am on a very strict diet and am not allowed any sugar substitutes either. It still tasted amazing πŸ™‚ Thanks for fab recipe πŸ˜€
    I have one question: Have you tried or would you recommend trying to add cinnamon to this recipe? I see above you that pumpkin and cinnamon goes well together but wonder how it will be if you add it to your recipe without any other changes. If it is worth trying πŸ˜‰ how much would you add?
    Regards
    Kristin

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      March 17, 2013 at 5:42 pm

      Hi Kristin~ I’m not sure how much to add, but I would start with at least 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and a sprinkle of nutmeg, if you use it. I don’t know if you taste your batters before baking (I know some are wary of raw egg) but I almost always taste test and adjust from there! Glad you enjoyed this πŸ™‚ ~Gretchen

       

Leave a Reply

 
