RSS

Hollandaise Sauce…. Lemony, Buttery, Eggy Low-carb Goodness!

05 Feb

Hollandaise sauce is one of those treats that used to be a guilty indulgence, before embracing a lower-carb lifestyle that includes a healthy amount of fat. NOW however, there’s no reason to be afraid to serve it up to enhance even a weekday meal.

Haven’t had Hollandaise? It’s the sauce traditionally served with Eggs Benedict… you know, the fancy breakfast of an English muffin topped with a poached egg, Canadian bacon and that lovely lemony sauce? (To make it WB compliant, how about Instead of an English muffin, we use an All-in-one Bun?) We also love Hollandaise for dipping steamed artichoke leaves alongside a succulent grilled steak and a bottle of wine. Oh My!!

Parmesan-crusted pork medallions, roasted Brussels sprouts and sauteed mushrooms with a side of homemade Hollandaise sauce.

Parmesan-crusted pork medallions, roasted Brussels sprouts and sauteed mushrooms with a side of homemade Hollandaise sauce (with a few capers thrown in.)

It’s really fabulous with just about any vegetable, and last night it was a complement to roasted Brussels sprouts, Parmesan crusted pork medallions and sauteed mushrooms, MMMM! I wish I was having it again for lunch right NOW! Since the single batch of Hollandaise uses 2 egg yolks, I made use of the whites for dipping the pork medallions before dredging them in a mixture of grated Parmesan cheese (1/2C) plus a couple tablespoons of almond flour and seasonings, before pan frying them in coconut oil. (My son says that this is the perfect way to make pork chops, and that they should all be this way, haha.)

There are only 3 simple ingredients to Hollandaise sauce: egg yolks, fresh lemon juice, and butter! If you want to kick it up a bit you can add a pinch of cayenne pepper or stir in some herbs, but the basic recipe is… well, basic!

And yet many people I know (and BEWARE, MOST restaurants) use the packets you can purchase at the grocery store instead. Why? Well, I’m not sure exactly. I think there is a misconception that it’s a very difficult sauce to make. It does take a little attention, but it’s actually quite easy, even if you’re not a seasoned home chef. Personally, I almost always have these simple ingredients on hand.

So, what are the ingredients in packaged Hollandaise? Let’s see…

hollandaise sauce mix.ashxMcCormick Hollandaise Sauce Mix:

WHEAT STARCH, CORN MALTODEXTRIN, WHOLE EGG SOLIDS, EGG YOLK SOLIDS, YEAST EXTRACT, SALT, ONION, SPICES (INCLUDING MUSTARD, PAPRIKA, TURMERIC), SOY LECITHIN, CITRIC ACID, AND NATURAL FLAVOR (INCLUDING LEMON EXTRACT).

Hmmmm…. looks like toxic sludge for those of us who are avoiding grains!

Here is the simple recipe that I always use for Hollandaise from Betty Crocker (I have added a few small edits in italics.), though there are many variations of the recipe, using different ratios of egg, lemon juice and butter, as well as some that first clarify the butter. This recipe is heavier on the lemon than many others, which is how we prefer it. I’ve made this many, many times and it’s always turned out perfectly and gets devoured πŸ˜‰

Classic Hollandaise Sauce

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup firm butter (cut into small chunks)

In small saucepan, stir egg yolks and lemon juice briskly with wooden spoon (I use a whisk.) Add half the butter; stir over very low heat until butter is melted.
Add remaining butter, stirring briskly until butter is melted and sauce thickens. (Be sure butter melts slowly as this gives eggs time to cook and thicken the sauce without curdling.) Serve hot or at room temperature.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Hollandaise Sauce…. Lemony, Buttery, Eggy Low-carb Goodness!

  1. Linda

    February 5, 2013 at 3:15 pm

    Looks great, do you add the lemon juice at the end?

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      February 5, 2013 at 3:40 pm

      The lemon juice is whisked together with the yolks at the beginning πŸ™‚ I omitted it accidentally and have fixed the recipe now. Ooops!

       
  2. johnnysenough hepburn

    February 5, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    Probably the only time I’ve made Hollandaise was going through catering college or culinary school, as I think you know and use the latter. Anyway, for years I’ve avoided butter. Now I do like to have it in the fridge. Hmm…well, that Hollandaise and those pork medallions has to be a perfect pairing!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      February 5, 2013 at 3:45 pm

      Hollandaise is one of those things I forget about making until something just calls for it, flavorwise. 3 of my favorite ingredients in one place πŸ™‚ Your training sure shows in your skill and the real beauty of your food… every time I look at your page I get hungry!

       
  3. Fred

    May 5, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    Easiest looking instructions for making it I’ve seen. The few times I’ve made it I used a food processor or blender version in which I place the eggs, pour very hot and bubbly butter into the eggs as it processes, and then add the lemon juice at the end. Yours looks like a lot less mess. Apparently hollandaise is less temperamental than I realized. Most instructions I’ve seen involve a double boiler, lifting the top section while beating, placing it back on the base, beating, adding something if it thins or something else if it gets too thick . . .

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 5, 2013 at 10:35 am

      I’m glad! I am usually too lazy/busy to fool around with double boilers and such, so I take the direct route πŸ˜‰ I have yet to have an issue with curdling or a poor texture. I am pretty much the same when tempering chocolate… no double boilers there either. So perhaps I’m just lucky! ~G

       

Leave a Reply

 
