RSS

Dark Chocolate Low-carb Dairy-free Ice Cream (made with coconut milk!)

06 Feb

No muss, no fuss… just straight up chocolate decadence without the dairy and sugar.

Dark Chocolate Low-carb Dairy-free Ice Cream

Dark Chocolate Low-carb Dairy-free Ice Cream… kind of tastes like fudgecicles!

 

Too good to be true? Nope!

There are a couple things I will admit.
I am a fiend for dark chocolate and I am a sucker for ice cream

I don’t think I could ever stick to a way of eating that made these two things totally off limits for me. Thankfully, Wheat Belly is all about healthy ingredients, not about being militant, so there is wiggle room for my indulgences. Yay!

However, I have realized that as much as I love heavy cream (wonderfully low carb!) and dairy, that some non-cheese dairy products tend to trigger an upset stomach for me, and weight gain. This is also the case with many of my friends following this way of eating, so I experimented a little with making coconut cream ice cream. I have no doubt that I will be tweaking this recipe in the future (I’d like to up the creaminess without adding dairy), it’s still really a good base recipe that I will definitely do again.

I’m surprised that I really can’t taste the coconut flavor in this recipe, although I thought it would be a good match for the chocolate. I think that the dark chocolate cocoa is just a much stronger player, and drowns out the coconut. I will be keeping my eyes open for a deal on a higher quality dark chocolate cocoa powder, but this is what I usually have on hand and it worked just fine. I’m imagining this now with a nut butter sauce, or maybe toasted sweetened nuts on top… or a blop of this ice cream in my coffee 😀

Dark Chocolate Low-carb Dairy-free Ice Cream

  • 2 cans full fat coconut milk
  • 1/2C dark cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark)
  • pinch of salt (optional)
  • pinch of cayenne pepper (optional)
  • pinch of cinnamon (optional)
  • 1 Tb vanilla
  • Sweetener of choice equaling about 1/2C or to taste (I used about 1/4 C Torani sugar-free caramel syrup and 1/4C Swerve)

Thoroughly mix all ingredients in the blender. Finish up by using an ice cream maker or just pour into a freezer container and freeze until firm. Makes about 8 servings.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Dark Chocolate Low-carb Dairy-free Ice Cream (made with coconut milk!)

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    February 6, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    Have you checked what is in your coconut milk? You might be surprised as the amount of coconut isn’t necessarily as high as you would expect. That’s the case here, anyway. I was actually quite shocked at how little coconut is used. If you can buy fresh coconuts or dried coconut it might be best to make your own milk. It’s supposed to be fairly easy, or so I’ve read. Charmaine Solomon is one of my favourite food writers about Indian food. However, you probably won’t find a recipe for this online from her. You’ll find loads of info otherwise.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      February 6, 2013 at 8:01 pm

      Thanks Johnny! Here, there are two basic kinds of coconut milk. The one that is refrigerated and in cartons is the type you are referring to, I think. It’s similar to almond milk, and you are right that it has a load of other ingredients (some of which are not all that healthy) and is very watered down. I do know that some people make their own milk of this type, but I’m not really a milk drinker and don’t eat cereal, so I haven’t tried making it yet. I will check out Charmaine’s writing, as I’ve done very little Indian cooking, but would like to explore it! Thanks.

      The kind I use in this recipe is called coconut milk, but it’s in a can, and the ingredients are: coconut cream, water and xantham gum. It’s a lot thicker, and in some dairy-free recipes, the cream on the top in the can can stand in for sour cream, as it is a similar thickness.

      I never thought I’d be incorporating so many coconut products into my cooking and baking, but there are just so many health benefits! I am especially thrilled with the virgin coconut oil; it’s amazing to saute and bake with, and is great used on skin and hair too 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
