RSS

COCONUT FLOUR TORTILLA! {Grain-free, Gluten-free}

13 Feb
Coconut flour tortilla with cheeseburger filling for lunch, YES!

Coconut flour tortilla with cheeseburger filling for lunch, YES!

 

I don’t do a lot of bread replacements, but I will definitely be using this one again. In fact, after I cooked it, and it was a success, I looked at it –blankly– for a bit, trying to figure out what to put in it, because my mind doesn’t even *think* in terms of sandwiches anymore!!

This is a recipe from www.freecoconutrecipes.com which is part of the Tropical Traditions coconut product website. I will probably tweak this a little after I have made it a few times, but as a basic recipe to work from, it ROCKS! I want to share this now because there are some who rely a lot on tortillas and wraps, and this might make your day a little easier and the switch to grain-free eating a little less scary.

 

Click for COCONUT FLOUR TORTILLA RECIPE.

It’s somewhere between a tortilla and a crepe, and was even sturdy enough for burger fillings! There’s no question it would be good with sweet dessert-type fillings as well, like sweetened cream cheese and berries, mmmm. I’ve been wanting to focus more on using coconut flour because almond flour can be a little harsh for my digestion, so this is perfect. KEEPER, thank you to my Facebook friend for posting this on her page, made my day!
 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “COCONUT FLOUR TORTILLA! {Grain-free, Gluten-free}

  1. sz

    February 13, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    YES!!!!!!!!!!!

    sent from my iFone

     
  2. johnnysenough hepburn

    February 13, 2013 at 7:49 pm

    This is exactly why I love to follow you blog as you do all the hard work for me! I love the idea of these as I just adore coconut!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      February 14, 2013 at 12:14 pm

      Thanks Johnny! I replied on someone else’ recipe here, but I did give it a test run! Hehe. The coconut flavor is pretty mild, so it doesn’t interfere with a savory filling, but would probably enhance something sweet!

       
  3. donna

    February 14, 2013 at 12:28 am

    I love your ideas and your blog. I’ve been wheat free for about a month now and feel so much better. In the process, I also cut out refined sugar, honey, potatoes and rice and so many changes have taken place. Just wanted to thank you for great information.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      February 14, 2013 at 12:16 pm

      Hi Donna, Congratulations on feeling better! The first month is a big step. You are welcome, and I’m glad you find it useful! ~Gretchen

       
  4. Kelly

    July 11, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    I love your recipes!.

     

Leave a Reply

 
