RSS

Pretty in Purple! {Grain Free Bacony Breakfast}

08 Aug

Vegetables are so beautiful… Purple cabbage is quite stunning even when whole, but when sliced open, it looks like a party! Rich in vitamin C and vitamin A, cabbage is also low in carbs, with about 2g per shredded cup.

In my last post, I outlined my plan for breaking my weight loss plateau. Number 4 is to increase my fat intake (while reducing fruit intake) to be sure I am in ketosis. While some people on the Wheat Belly plan eat bacon, and some do not, I have joyously decided to be in the camp of bacon-eaters 😉 It’s a great source of saturated animal fat, it’s tasty and filling! Sure it has nitrates, but we get a lot more nitrates from veggies than bacon. So this morning I knew I wanted to make some bacon, but instead of pairing it with eggs and fresh tomato as I did yesterday, I decided to get a little PURPLE! This is my breakfast, but it would be great for lunch or a side dish for dinner as well.

I cook my bacon in the oven and have been doing it that way for years. I like that it’s less messy, and the pieces also lay flat (if that happens to be a concern for your recipe.) Plus, it frees up the top of my stove for other pans and prep area as well. I didn’t take pictures of the bacon process, but I basically just use a baking sheet with sides of course, and lay the bacon out, leaving a little space between each piece. I find that with thin bacon I can get about half the package on one sheet (8-9 slices.) I set the temp at 400, and probably cook it between 10-15 minutes, though to be honest, I just keep an eye on it and pull it when it’s done.

The cabbage was easy as well. I heated a few tablespoons of bacon grease in a heavy pan, and slowly cooked the cabbage over medium/low heat for 20-30 minutes. I did add some gomasio (sesame salt) and a little kosher salt and fresh pepper to enhance the flavor.

Served it up with bacon pieces, feta cheese, tomato quarters and gomasio!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Pretty in Purple! {Grain Free Bacony Breakfast}

  1. Kathy

    August 8, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    This looks beautiful, Gretchen! I am going to try it tomorrow!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      August 8, 2012 at 4:11 pm

      I’m glad you think so 🙂 It REALLY filled me up, I haven’t been hungry all day!

       
  2. philosophermouseofthehedge

    August 8, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    Always love the purple, but must try it with feta and tomatoes – even sounds yummy. thanks

     
  3. Anne

    August 8, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    I’m also going to try this!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      August 8, 2012 at 6:09 pm

      I hope you do! The cabbage and bacon flavors go so well together and the feta and tomato give it a little bite.

       
  4. Kathleen Norris

    August 8, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    This looks sooo good! Wonder if you would consider adding a Pinterest button for easy pinning of your wonderful recipes?

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      August 8, 2012 at 6:10 pm

      Thanks Kathleen! I’m not sure how to add those buttons, but I’m sure I can figure it out if I have a look 😉 I’m flattered you would want me to.

       
      • Gretchen without Grain

        August 9, 2012 at 9:53 am

        Thanks Kathleen! I had located that as well. I am wondering if I should be watermarking the photos with my site etc.

         
      • Kathleen Norris

        August 9, 2012 at 10:46 am

        Watermarking… interesting thought, but I am sure folks have been pinning your work for a while and many pictures are already on Pinterest. I don’t think I’ve seen a watermarked photo for any of the recipes I’ve pinned, and I’ve pinned about 200 things to Pinterest so far from many sites.

         
      • Kathleen Norris

        August 9, 2012 at 10:51 am

        Went to my Pinterest and perused the pictures…. found a couple of bloggers that simply put their blog name in small letters in the bottom corner of a picture. You could simply annotate each picture with ggiswheatfree. There are plenty of ways to do that… my favorite tool for annotating pics is Skitch.

         
      • Gretchen without Grain

        August 9, 2012 at 3:51 pm

        Great… Yes just having an identifier on the pic is what I meant for watermarking. I guess I need to get with the Pinterest program, ha! You are right, a lot of my recipes and pics are already pinned there, I know I do get hits from there, too. I will check out Skitch as well, I haven’t heard of that program before, but I also have Photohop or Illustrator I can use. Thanks for the encouragement!

         
  5. Scott

    January 19, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    Made this today. Used goat cheese rather than Feta….Absolutely incredible!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      January 24, 2013 at 10:07 am

      So glad you liked it! Goat cheese is fabulous, mmmm. We make dishes like this with different cabbage varieties on a regular basis. In a way it can act as healthy substitute for pasta! ~G

       

Leave a Reply

 
