RSS

Pumpkin Maple Spice Muffins {Grain free!}

22 Sep
Grain-Free Pumpkin Maple Spice Muffin with Cream Cheese Frosting

Grain-Free Pumpkin Maple Spice Muffin with Cream Cheese Frosting

 

These are moist, tender and full of flavor…
and best of all, no grain or gluten in sight!!!

Fall has officially begun, and the yearning for pumpkin flavored warm yummy goodness isn’t going to be derailed by our grain-free lifestyle! These pumpkin muffins are a cinch to make, and are a treat with a nice hot cup of coffee after spending the afternoon in the autumn sun, or on cool fall evenings. The maple extract is completely optional, but it added a nice depth of flavor to complement the pumpkin. The topping is also optional, but the slight crunch from the pecans was delicious.

Grain free pumpkin muffins fresh from the oven. A nice rise and crunchy topping make these hard to resist.

Grain free pumpkin muffins fresh from the oven. A nice rise and crunchy topping make these hard to resist.

 

After searching the net for grain-free pumpkin muffin recipes, I decided to take a bit from several and just give my own version a try. As luck would have it, these turned our great the first time around (AND the second!) My son can’t believe how delicious these taste, and at 4-5g net carbs per muffin, they are low-carb and Wheat Belly compliant!

Simply mix all ingredients together at once.

Simply mix all ingredients together at once.

Pumpkin Maple Spice Muffins

  • 2C almond flour
  • 2Tb coconut flour
  • 2/3C canned pumpkin (unsweetened)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4C cashew butter (or almond butter)
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1/2tsp salt
  • 1/2tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp cinnamon (or 1Tb pumpkin pie spice;
    omit cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg)
  • 3/4tsp ginger powder
  • 1/4tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2tsp maple extract (optional)
  • 4Tb Swerve (or sweetener of your choice)
  • 20 drops liquid Stevia
  • 3Tb coconut oil (melted) or butter
  • 1Tb vanilla extract
  • 4-6Tb heavy cream
Pumpkin Maple Spice Muffins, au naturel!

Pumpkin Maple Spice Muffins, au naturel! So tender and moist.

Pecan Topping (optional):

  • 1/3C chopped pecans (or walnuts)
  • 1-2 Tb butter, melted
  • 1Tb Swerve sweetener
  • pinch of salt

Cream Cheese Frosting (optional):

  • 4oz softened cream cheese
  • 1Tb Swerve
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3C heavy whipping cream, whipped
  • 6 drops liquid Stevia

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350Β°. Line muffin pan with paper liners.
  2. Mix together all ingredients and fill muffin liners.
  3. If desired, top with nut topping (mix all ingredients together.)
  4. Bake 15 minutes, rotate pan, and bake another 10 minutes for a total of 25 minutes.
  5. Remove and allow to cool. If desired, top with butter, cream cheese frosting (fold together all ingredients) or lightly sweetened whipped cream.
Grain-free Pumpkin Maple Spice Muffin

Grain-free Pumpkin Maple Spice Muffin; Simply delicious!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

23 responses to “Pumpkin Maple Spice Muffins {Grain free!}

  1. Pat

    September 22, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    Two things…why do you use stevia and swerve and why does it say mostly grain free? thanks

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 22, 2012 at 4:40 pm

      The Pumpkin Maple Spice Muffins are completely grain-free… if that was your question. In my bio I say mostly grain-free because I will have a little white rice in sushi rolls once in a great while πŸ˜‰ I mixed the Swerve and Stevia because it seems to me that I get a more natural tasting sweetness when I combine sweeteners than when I use one alone, and many other people using sweeteners do the same thing with their choice of products. You can use any sweetener you like, just one if you prefer, but you will have to adjust the recipe accordingly.

       
  2. johnnysenough hepburn

    September 22, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    These are bound to be really healthy. Shame I can’t get several of those ingredients (what am I saying, I don’t even have a muffin pan!). Going to be baking quite soon, though.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 22, 2012 at 4:43 pm

      Haha on the muffin pan! I know you don’t tend towards the sweets at all really. These are healthy, but they also taste so good. I like my muffins only slightly sweet, so these are definitely not overpowering. I have to think that these could also be baked in a “bar” fashion by using a baking pan and pouring the batter in a single layer. Having things like this on hand is a big help with a teen in the house!

       
  3. Annie Erdtsieck

    September 22, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    there’s no where in perth where they sell almond flour ,,or cashew/almond butter so I guess I’ll have to play around with the recipe.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 26, 2012 at 5:25 pm

      Annie, almond flour is pretty key to keeping the carbs low… I wonder if maybe you can order it online? I originally ordered mine from Nuts.com, but was very excited to find a local source at a bulk food store recently. The nut butter you could probably sub out for natural peanut butter.

       
  4. Kathy

    September 22, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    These ae absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 26, 2012 at 5:25 pm

      Great! I’m glad you enjoyed them πŸ™‚ My guys are crazy about these.

       
  5. Maleia

    September 28, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    Love these, Gretchen! Made several times now including with Blueberries as well as recently with strawberries. (Kept cinnamon and vanilla but left out other spices, maple and pumpkin subbed in with 1-1.5 cups berries.) Awesome! (Also subbed heavy cream w 5 tbs of coconut milk as we can’t have dairy – baked 40 minutes and perfect!). By far my most favorite muffin recipe yet! Thx!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 28, 2012 at 2:21 pm

      HI Maleia!
      I am so happy that you enjoyed these as much as we have. I also appreciate you sharing your modifications so that others can see how flexible a recipe like this can be. I am going to have to try them with strawberries, sounds great! Thank you for your comment πŸ™‚

       
  6. Maria Sewing

    January 28, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    Hey Gretchen, okay these muffins are not just good, they’re “slap your mama” good!! Wow, outstanding flavor, moist, just everything you want a muffin to be and healthy too. Love it. Thanks for the awesome recipe and killer blog. Maria

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      January 30, 2013 at 2:17 pm

      Haha, my guys loved your comment πŸ˜‰ I haven’t made these in awhile, and this reminds me to plan on it soon!

       
  7. Karen

    March 12, 2013 at 3:51 pm

    Hi Gretchen, I just made this recipe … delicious. I don’t eat eggs or dairy, so I substituted chia seed gel (1T chia seeds:1/4 c water per egg), and used thick coconut milk instead of cream. I also added 1/4 c. of flax and reduced the almond flour by that much. And I added about 1/4 c. of mulberries. They turned out great. The only thing I would do next time is add 1 teaspoon of xantham gum which I do for other Wheat Belly recipes so it’s not so crumbly. I really like your blog. Thanks. Karen

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      March 13, 2013 at 1:51 pm

      Hi Karen~ Glad that the recipe worked for you with your substitutions! I appreciate you letting others know how you modified this for dairy and egg intolerances πŸ™‚ ~Gretchen

       
  8. Karen

    March 12, 2013 at 3:54 pm

    I forgot to mention, I found that I had to cook them longer with my substitutions. I cooked them @ 325F on convection for 40 minutes to get the proper doneness. Karen

     
  9. Deborah

    April 17, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    Made these today and they are AWESOME!! Thank you for the recipe – a healthy snack my kids actually want! The only change I made was to omit the maple extract and sweetener and replace them with 1/3 cup real maple syrup. Oh, and I added in 1/3 cup of ground flax. I made a dozen muffins and the needed to bake for about 35 minutes.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 5, 2013 at 10:32 am

      Super!! Having muffins on hand for the kids is a definite help, I know. And when I make recipes that are primarily for my son, I also tend to sub in maple syrup or honey, for at least part of the sweetener. I don’t feel that kids need as much of a carb restriction as long as the carbs they do get are coming from a good source and they aren’t gorging on sugary drinks. Ty for the feedback! ~G

       
  10. Sealani

    August 31, 2013 at 8:33 pm

    Gretchen, I’m ready to make these alongside making my husband’s out of “regular” ingredients. Are walnut flour or pecan flour acceptable substitutes for almond flour?

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      September 5, 2013 at 11:12 am

      I would think that you could… I’d certainly try! I think I would love the flavor of pecan flour, YUM! ~G

       
  11. Heather

    October 18, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    How many muffins does this make? I’m sorry if it said and I missed it. I can’t wait to try these.

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      October 29, 2013 at 6:35 am

      Good question! I haven’t made these in awhile, and I honestly can’t recall… it’s either 12 or 18. Next time I make them, I’ll post a proper answer. Hope you enjoy these!

       

Leave a Reply

 
