RSS

Celebrate National Cheesecake Day and Blueberry Season with a Low Carb, Grain Free Treat!

30 Jul

 

Cheesecake Bars with Blueberry Sauce

Blueberry Harvest

Happy National Cheesecake Day! Woohoooo!

OK, I honestly had no idea that there was such a day until I saw a few posts about it this morning on Facebook 😉 but as luck would have it, I had already baked low carb cheesecake bars this morning to have when my parents come over for dinner this evening. My cheesecake was inspired not by a national day for decadent desserts, but rather by wanting to celebrate our bountiful blueberry harvest. My husband and son and I went picking this past Saturday, and since the weather was so perfect (75, sunny and breezy) we ended up with 20 pounds of berries before we realized it!

This is an easy-peasy recipe. I promise.

I start with the same almond flour crust that I used in the raspberry streusel bars and the frozen raspberry cheesecake bars. Then I added a layer of cheesecake batter that I zipped up in the food processor. Super simple. Add to that a blueberry topping that consists of a few cups of blueberries simmered down on the stove until they thicken up, and sweetened with a couple tablespoons of erythritol. Delish!

Low-Carb Cheesecake Bars with Fresh Blueberry Sauce

Crust Layer:

  • Cheesecake out of the oven2C blanched almond flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 2T butter (or coconut oil )
  • 1T vanilla extract
  • 1T water
  • 1 tsp Truvia or other sweetener

Make the crust: blend all crust ingredients together in a food processor. Line a 9″ by 9″ baking dish with parchment and press crust mixture firmly into pan. Bake for 20 minutes at 350 (I turn my pan halfway through baking.) Remove from oven and set aside.

Cheesecake Layer:

  • 12oz cream cheese, softened (1 1/2 packages)
  • 1/2C sour cream
  • 1T vanilla
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 4Tb erythritol
  • Zest of one lemon

Make cheesecake filling: In a stand mixer or food processor, beat softened cream cheese until smooth. Add sour cream and beat to combine. Add eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Add vanilla, zest and erythritol and beat (on medium) until well-combined, but not whipped. Pour over crust and smooth out. Bake for 20 minutes, I turned pan halfway through baking to ensure even cooking. Remove and let cool completely. 12 servings, Less than 4 carbs per piece before adding topping.

Cut into serving size pieces and top with your choice of low carb toppings or just have plain.

Topped with fresh blueberry sauce

Blueberry Sauce

The blueberry sauce was made by simmering 2 C of fresh blueberries for 30 minutes or more, stirring occasionally, until the sauce is thickened and syrupy. I then stirred in about 2 Tb of erythritol to add a little sweetness. Cool and spoon over cheesecake bars to serve.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Celebrate National Cheesecake Day and Blueberry Season with a Low Carb, Grain Free Treat!

  1. changeforbetterme

    July 30, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    oh this looks so good! I am a sucker for cheesecake….my all time favorite! I was afraid I would have to give it up completely because of the crust and being diabetic….but I think you are my hero for having this recipe! Thanks!! 🙂

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      July 30, 2012 at 2:32 pm

      You are so welcome!!! It makes me smile from ear to ear knowing that I made life a little better today for someone else 🙂

      Cheesecake was one of the first deserts I took it upon myself to “fix” when I decided to go sugar free for better health, I love it too! The almond flour really makes a great substitute for graham cracker crust.

       
      • changeforbetterme

        July 30, 2012 at 2:44 pm

        You really did make my day! I am a really good COOK, I make my own recipes all the time. A Baker I am NOT! So I really do thank you for this…. 🙂

         
  2. johnnysenough hepburn

    July 30, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    You might know from my posts that I never bake cakes or desserts. Yet, I adore cheesecake. Could eat it for breakfast with a strong black coffee!

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      July 30, 2012 at 9:32 pm

      I DID have it for breakfast! There is something sort of wholesome about cheesecake that made me think it was OK to do that, hehe. Though without the carbs, I wasn’t feeling guilty 😉

       
  3. A Table in the Sun

    July 30, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    Cheesecak is a great reason to celebrate. Pass the blueberries, please.

     
  4. Teresa

    October 24, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Help, I would love to try and make a pumpkin cheesecake of sorts but I am not the best baker in the world. How do you think I could tweak this to get a good result?

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      October 28, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      Hi Teresa,
      I am definitely a tweaker in the kitchen, I tend to just try things to see if they work, but I am not a pro, so I sometimes make mistakes. I think there are probably some good pumpkin cheesecake recipes out there, but I wouldn’t be afraid at all just to add a half cup of puree to the mixture with perhaps an extra egg, and a tablespoon or so of pumpkin pie spice to give it the right flavor. It sounds like a great option for fall!
      ~ Gretchen

       
  5. Teresa

    October 24, 2012 at 10:36 pm

    and this may be a silly question, but I don’t have a good processor so could I still make the crust?

     
    • Gretchen without Grain

      October 28, 2012 at 9:12 pm

      Hi Theresa,
      Yes, you can make the crust in a bowl instead. I just find that the processor makes it easy and fast to whip together. You might want to use a pastry cutter or fork to work the ingredients together. I hope it turns out for you! ~ Gretchen

       
  6. Elizabeth

    March 28, 2013 at 7:18 am

    Oh my goodness, I can’t wait to make this! I am just about drooling over my keyboard 😉

     

Leave a comment